London Accommodation - cityoflondonhomes

If you have been scammed, please post here and share your experience; it may help others avoid the same situation!

Re: London Accommodation - cityoflondonhomes

Postby Catcher in the lie on Wed Nov 11, 2009 11:49 pm

Heres an update: :)

I've just sent the info on: http://www.london-homerentals.co.uk/
Please be aware that http://www.central-londonshotlets.com is a scam as well, and I've sent with the one above. (Both list the same non-existant physical address on their sites)

Also, you can read this from the TripAdvisor London message board - from: http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowTopic- ... gland.html (start at Modka's post, 6th down)

Quote:
307. Re: Fraud - Apartment Rentals
28 October 2009, 15:50
Destination Expert
for London
The phone numbers are provided by YAC which is a service that can redirect calls to anywhere in the world whilst appearing to be in the UK.


The descriptions of some of the areas are copied from the legit http://www.homefromhome.co.uk/


(Just pick any phrase from the area descriptions and then enter it into google surrounded by quote marks to see what other sites are using that exact phrase).


Address of 24B Rainham Road is also the contact details for this very similar looking site:


http://www.central-londonshotlets.com/


AND this one: (Now shut down)


http://www.london-cityrentals.com


I'll post back when they're down.

eta: Another thing, I'm sure it's been said tons of times on the forum, but I have ta say it again anyway... :)
When checking out a rental, always tell the company that you know someone who happens to live in the city/town/area, who you would like to preview the apartment in between guest rentals, and/or they would be happy to deliver the deposit to the company's office. If their answer is anything other than yes, no matter what kind of seemingly plausible excuse they give, they're not legitimate. All legit companies have an office with regular office hours and a physical address one can walk into.
Catcher in the lie
Registered Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 10:58 am

Re: London Accommodation - cityoflondonhomes

Postby kuju on Thu Nov 12, 2009 5:28 am

I need some info regarding persons that have been scammed by Henry Boyate. If anyboody has any info could you please contact me or pm me. thanks
kuju
Registered Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 3:04 pm

Re: London Accommodation - cityoflondonhomes

Postby Ralph on Thu Nov 12, 2009 5:33 am

Hi Kuju

Could you please provide more information, searching for a scammer based on fake name alone is near impossible.

Email address, early emails and phone numbers will help
User avatar
Ralph
Scam Warner
Scam Warner
 
Posts: 4219
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 6:36 pm
Location: Australia

Re: London Accommodation - cityoflondonhomes

Postby Arnold on Thu Nov 12, 2009 6:02 am

Kuju
The same is uncommon enough to show other scam reports on the Internet. The police do seem to be investigating.
See here.
If you want details of scam victims, we can't help. You seem to be the only one here who has mentioned this scammer on this forum. If any scamwarners staff have any victims' details, they will have been given in confidence by PM or email.
You can contact me either by PM or by email to arnold.j.matthews @ gmail.com
User avatar
Arnold
Scam Warner
Scam Warner
 
Posts: 1022
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2008 1:17 pm
Location: Somewhere in the UK

Re: London Accommodation - cityoflondonhomes

Postby The Enchantress on Thu Nov 12, 2009 6:07 am

Hi kuju

Further information and advice here;

http://www.ralli.co.uk/news/property-fraudsters-target-students-and-tourists-in-london-letting-scam

If you have any information to add please post here - this will alert and save others being scammed.
Photos - are scammers using yours? click here
Are you falling for a love scammer? click here
Never send money by Western Union/Moneygram.
Never give personal information.
Online anyone can claim to be anyone, any age and from anywhere.
User avatar
The Enchantress
General Counsel
General Counsel
 
Posts: 5931
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 4:53 pm
Location: Ни́жний Но́вгород

Re: London Accommodation - cityoflondonhomes

Postby kuju on Thu Nov 12, 2009 6:36 am

thanks. if you get to know anything else please let me know
kuju
Registered Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 3:04 pm

Re: London Accommodation - cityoflondonhomes

Postby kuju on Thu Nov 12, 2009 6:45 am

thanks arnold. the english police do not seem they are taking action, as they only investigate amounts over GBP 5000. so if we gather all information about people being scammed by henry, maybe they will do something.
kuju
Registered Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 3:04 pm

Re: London Accommodation - cityoflondonhomes

Postby Ralph on Thu Nov 12, 2009 6:51 am

I am comfortable enough to ask victims to report their stories to a particular police unit but not to an individual.

We dont normally gather information on victims but if any wanted to come forward to help you I dont mind refering them somewhere verifiable (a particular police unit) if it will suit your plans.
User avatar
Ralph
Scam Warner
Scam Warner
 
Posts: 4219
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 6:36 pm
Location: Australia

Re: London Accommodation - cityoflondonhomes

Postby kuju on Thu Nov 12, 2009 7:35 am

i pm you ralph
kuju
Registered Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 3:04 pm

Re: London Accommodation - cityoflondonhomes

Postby Ralph on Thu Nov 12, 2009 7:49 am

^^ Read and replied to PM :wink:

For the benefit of anybody who may be interested in helping, I intend on verifying a police contact who is interested in this, if you have been scammed and are willing to participate I can pass on details.

Kuju, I will state publicly, I do need to verify the contact, I dont mind if you want them to contact me directly, either way, I need to be 100% sure
User avatar
Ralph
Scam Warner
Scam Warner
 
Posts: 4219
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 6:36 pm
Location: Australia

Re: London Accommodation - cityoflondonhomes

Postby kuju on Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:13 am

thanks Ralph, they will contact you later. we need preferable people scammed by Henry Boyate
kuju
Registered Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 3:04 pm

Re: London Accommodation - cityoflondonhomes

Postby Catcher in the lie on Tue Nov 17, 2009 12:21 pm

Cargus wrote:

We are new on this forum, and new of being scammed!! Unfortunately we have send money to Raphael Tucker, also known as Bryn or Vera Tucker.
He doesn't answer to our emails anymore
The webpage they are using now is: http://www.london-homerentals.co.uk/
He uses this e-mail direction: London Home Rentals <bookings@london-homerentals.co.uk>


Cargus, I'm so sorry you lost money to this scam 'company' website. It's not very much consolation for you, but the site has been suspended. And a very grateful Thankyou to you...by bringing it to SW's attention, you've saved an untold amount of future victims!

This one is off-line as well: http://www.central-londonshotlets.com/
:D
Catcher in the lie
Registered Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 10:58 am

Re: London Accommodation - cityoflondonhomes

Postby listsinc on Sat Dec 12, 2009 7:27 pm

Quick warning that the website http://www.kortisproperties.com is a scam and a fraud. Rapheal Sinclair will take your deposit and disappear with it.

Same phone numbers and same scam as mentioned before on ScamWarners
Tel: +44 (0) 7519569598 Fax: +44 208 181 6081
Address: 120 Queensgate |South Kensington, London SW7 5LE, England
Email: booking@kortisproperties.com

Front Desk Officer :Rapheal Sinclair

He is currently advertising holiday lets in London on Craig's List, all of them at 25% of the going rate, with descriptions involving impossible geography eg flat near Hyde Park is moments from Covent Garden - it's an hour's walk.
listsinc
Registered Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 5:11 pm

Re: London Accommodation - cityoflondonhomes

Postby David Jansen on Sun Dec 13, 2009 2:22 pm

Thanks for posting this Listsinc.

I passed the information of this site to our site killers who will deal with it.
Being a victim doesn't mean you stand alone. We're here to help you.
User avatar
David Jansen
Scam Warner
Scam Warner
 
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 11:25 am
Location: in China, getting a tattoo

Re: London Accommodation www.always-londonvacation.co.uk scam

Postby listsinc on Fri Dec 18, 2009 7:21 pm

Another one for the site killers.

www.always-londonvacation.co.uk is a scam, fraud, con trick, fake website run by criminals who have copied the photographs and text of each ad from legitimate holiday rental websites.

Same phone number as the recently removed fraudulent site www.london-homerentals.co.uk.

In common with all of these scam sites for holiday lets, they only accept payment by money transfer or bank transfer. Much safer to pay by cheque or by credit card.
listsinc
Registered Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 5:11 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Personal accounts of scams

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest