Auto Trader Scam

If you have been scammed, please post here and share your experience; it may help others avoid the same situation!

Re: Auto Trader Scam

Postby Jillian on Mon Apr 13, 2009 3:13 pm

Thank you for posting, 1024. The information will very likely prevent someone else from the same scam. I'm sorry that you lost a bit of money, but due to you being alert, you caught the scam in time. Good for you. :D
Email : Jillian @ ScamWarners.com
Follow ScamWarners on Twitter: http://twitter.com/ScamWarners
User avatar
Jillian
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1525
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 12:43 am

Re: Auto Trader Scam

Postby mrm on Wed Apr 29, 2009 5:48 pm

I found a very similiar ad on auto trader. The car's location on autotrader was Baltimore. Then he emailed me and said it was in Billings MT. I ran a carfax and it said it had been purchased recently in NY. It was fishy from the beginning. We exchanged other emails about the Ebay buyer protection program. Oh well... I only lost the fee I paid for carfax. I started researching autotrader scams on google and found this site. Excellent site. I won't waste anymore emailing this jerk and will report him to autotrader and ebay.


Subject: RE: Owner 64094003: AutoTrader.com: Vehicle Lead 2007 Toyota Yaris[/color]
I am selling this car because my unit will be sent back to Iraq.I have no use for the car anyway,due to my job.The price is low because I need to sell it before May 10th. The car is in great condition and runs great. I have a clean title ready to be signed. The car has no electrical or mechanical problems.It is still available for sale if interested, price as stated in the ad .The car is in Billings, MT ( i had a buyer but he couldn't get his loan approved, so the car is waiting to travel to its next owner) in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping . Let me know if you are interested, email back.

> Date: Tue, 28 Apr 2009 12:46:30 -0400
> From: sellyourcar@autotrader.com
> To: GSG.400@msn.com
> Subject: Owner 64094003: AutoTrader.com: Vehicle Lead 2007 Toyota Yaris
>
> ***VEHICLE LEAD***
>
> The following lead was generated from AutoTrader.com's web site at http://www.autotrader.com.
> To view the vehicle, click the link below:
> http://www.autotrader.com/fyc/vdp.jsp?car_id=261694040
>
>
> VEHICLE INFORMATION
> Make: Toyota
> Model: Yaris
> Year: 2007
> Price: 3750
> Mileage: 33600
> Body Style: Sedan
> Color: Gray
> Cylinders: 4 Cylinder
> Transmission: Automatic
> Doors: Four Door
> Stereo: Unavailable
> Description: Save tons of $ on gas! Great condition and very clean. Dark gray (actually called "Flint" - a very pretty dark gray) with gray cloth interior.Automatic, 33 k miles - Toyota quality with documented gas mileage at 39 mpg and may get even better gas mileage depending upon your driving! Has a CD player/ MP3, AM/FM, driver and passenger air bags.
>
>
>
> Fraud Awareness Tips For Sellers:
> http://www.autotrader.com/research/shar ... e_id=12125[/color]
Last edited by mrm on Thu Apr 30, 2009 7:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
mrm
Registered Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 5:40 pm

Re: Auto Trader Scam

Postby Ralph on Thu Apr 30, 2009 4:22 am

Hi mrm

Welcome to Scamwarners

Allthough sympathetic that you have been messed about and lost a little money, I am very happy that you have avoided the kind of loss we are accustomed to seeing from victims of these scammers.

Also very grateful that you have taken the time to call in and post providing the details of the scammer.

As you found from your searching, when people become a little suspicious they will often do a little searching, the more there is for them to find, the better chance of them not being scammed
User avatar
Ralph
Scam Warner
Scam Warner
 
Posts: 4219
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 6:36 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Auto Trader Scam

Postby ranmori on Thu May 28, 2009 5:57 am

There are other sites as you well know but the content of this site blows everything else off the map
Great :beer: :laugh-s:
ranmori
Registered Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 5:55 am

Re: Auto Trader Scam

Postby Arnold on Thu May 28, 2009 12:50 pm

Welcome to Scamwarners and Image
You can contact me either by PM or by email to arnold.j.matthews @ gmail.com
User avatar
Arnold
Scam Warner
Scam Warner
 
Posts: 1051
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2008 1:17 pm
Location: Somewhere in the UK

Previous

Return to Personal accounts of scams

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests