Craigslist, Ebay and other online buying/selling scams.
#29210 by Luke Sun May 23, 2010 2:18 pm
Trying to sell my motorbike online using autotrader...

Got this reply:
Question
Hi Do you still have it for sale? i will like to make an offer $7,200 for this,payments will be made through paypal and i will arrange for the pick up as well. Cheers, Jordan.

I replied - sensing a scam due to unusual English, punctuation, and arranging for pick up:
Hi Jordan,

Yes, it's still available... And paypal would work.. Where do you live?

His reply:
from Jordan Evans <[email protected]>
date Sun, May 23, 2010 at 11:50 AM
subject Re: Important Sales Lead from AutoTrader
mailed-by gmail.com
signed-by gmail.com

Thanks for the quick response, i am buying this item for my son as a surprice gift and i am at sea at this moment as i am a marine engineer and due to the nature of my work,phone calls making and visiting of website are restricted but i squeezed out time to check this advert and send you an email regarding it. I really want the item to be a surprise for dad so i wont let him know anything about the item until it gets delivered to him , i am sure he will be more than happy with the item.I insisted on paypal because i don't have access to my bank account online as i don't have internet banking, but i can pay from my PayPal account, as i have my bank a/c attached to it, i will need you to give me your PayPal email address so i can make the payment as soon as possible for the item and pls if you don't have PayPal account yet,it is very easy to set up, go on http://www.paypal.com and get it set up ,after you have set it up i will only need the e-mail address you use for registration with PayPal so as to put the money through.my dad have pick up agent that will come and pick the item up after i have made the payment.what is your final price?.

Obvious scam...
Advertisement

#29228 by Chris Fuller Sun May 23, 2010 4:21 pm
Hello Luke and welcome to ScamWarners.