Fake banks, couriers, law firms, escrow and other fake sites used in scams.
#166960 by HannahsDad Sun May 26, 2013 3:15 pm
DTP Tractors Ltd at http://dtp-tractors-ltd.com/front/index.php
In 2002 I turned into a limited company and changed the name from DAVID THOMAS PEMBERTON !! DTP PEMBERTON with the aim of concentrating on selling quality machinery to the retail customer at discount prices with minimal overheads ultimately saving customers money on quality retail machinery.

The domain was registered on 10th March 2013, anonymously, for 1 year only.

(Interestingly there is another inactive domain thomas-pemberton.com which was registered on 21st January 2012, for 2 years, by David Pemberton of Manor Farm, Nunburnholme, York YO42 1QY.)

Anyway, back to the matter in hand
DTP TRACTOR LTD has over the years made many experiences in the field of exporting the machines.
We can arrange from A to Z and from house to house address.
On our property we have a loading and fast, efficient and harmless loading cargo.
We can also arrange transport anywhere in Europe !

I suspect that has suffered in translation.

Contact details
VAT NUMBER: GB 928135910

No telephone or fax number, web form only

Map on the contact page is for Lima, Peru (might explain the clunky English earlier)

The VAT number belongs to DTP Tractors Ltd of Manor Farm, Nunburnholme York YO42 1QY
as a search here shows: http://ec.europa.eu/taxation_customs/vi ... ponse.html
But I was surprised to find that the UK company of this name (Company No. 08359188) was only incorporated
on 14th January 2013. Details here: http://wck2.companieshouse.gov.uk//wcfr ... ompanyInfo

So, there is a company of this name at this address but I think it is a stolen identity/address.

I found a listing in Yell here: http://www.yell.com/s/machinery-burnby.html
showing a contact telephone number of 0871 9153262 which is a premium rate non geographic number – so the recipient could be anywhere. Possibly in Nottingham, because ...

They have a listing on Tradez, obviously aimed at the Chinese market, here: http://www.tradezz.com/corp_1502342_DTP ... RS-LTD.htm showing a contact telephone/fax of 0044-115-8882941 which is a Nottingham telephone number, so about 80 miles away from where they say they are. (York is 01904)

And lots of listings on the German website http://www.truck-mobiles.de

The thing that always surprises me is the sheer range and number of machines that agricultural dealers have available - as if they could afford to have all that valuable machinery sitting around cluttering up their yard - although the photographs always seem to be in different locations, so perhaps they are not all lined up and cluttering their yard.

And the prices!
Too good to be true?


#166980 by TerranceBoyce Sun May 26, 2013 6:57 pm
I'll take a peek at this one too.

I am in a position to check whether account details that have been provided to victims are 'bogus' or not. I'm being purposely vague by using that term, and will not explain further so as not to disclose how I do it and what I know, as scammers would benefit from knowing this information. However, it would be useful for a victim to know whether or not an account is bogus as the immediate question then is how the payment was able to get through to anyone and it would be a powerful matter to raise with the Financial Ombudsman Service. The point being that if a bank gets stuck with a loss it has methods and powers not available to the average person or company to recoup the money. I recall one instance that was quite brilliant and not a little amusing.

I speculate that there aren't a lot of independent groups operating this scam and counter intuitively, the greater effort that is made to make it appear otherwise, the less likely it is. Perhaps those looking at the webpage set ups would see some evidence of this from their side of things.

Meanwhile I'll check some of the previous account details out and see what's revealed.

CAR ADVERTS - If a car seller mentions escrow - he's scamming you Never ever for any reason pay anything until you have seen and inspected the vehicle
#167995 by DTP-tractors Thu Jun 06, 2013 6:41 am

I just wanted to update this topic, to highlight a police investigation into the above mentioned website. Humberside police are aware of the website, which is fraudulently using a legitimate company's name, address and reg number to deceive buyers. The website is not in the uk, and the phone number points overseas. It is understood they request buyers to pay by Western Union (alarm bells should ring immediately), and the goods never arrive.

The legitimate website is www.dtptractorsltd.co.uk (or www.dtptractors.co.uk).

If you have been conned, please contact Humberside Police. Full details are also displayed here: http://dtptractorsltd.co.uk/fraud-websi ... s-ltd-com/
#167997 by TerranceBoyce Thu Jun 06, 2013 7:15 am
Welcome to Scamwarners DTP-tractors.

Our regrets that you have joined the list of companies and people impersonated by this group of scammers.

In spite of their general level of incompetence, the harm they can do to legitimate business is considerable apart from the losses suffered by victims and mistrust it creates in people wanting to do business with UK companies.

If you have a contact name and details for the person at Hull police looking into it I may have some information which may be of use - please pm it to me. I can't say that I have specific evidence but I may be able to point them in the right direction and add to their store of knowledge as to how these people operate. The only tactic these people use effectively is creating a blizzard of confusion, so anything that enables an inquiry to discard the obviously bogus information will be helpful.

I'm limited in what I can say in the open as the forums are open to be read by everyone and it is apparent that the scammers read them avidly too which is not a great problem, as long as I don't detail specifically what I know so that the scammers can change how they operate. I may also be able to put foreign victims who have lost money in touch with the contact. I have avoided asking them to show me documentary evidence of their losses and where they paid money too, and it would be more appropriate if they passed it directly to someone handling it within the police. Details of bank accounts being used would be invaluable, and we know that bank accounts have been used.

Don't worry if you can't supply contact details because I'll keep monitoring their activities anyway.

CAR ADVERTS - If a car seller mentions escrow - he's scamming you Never ever for any reason pay anything until you have seen and inspected the vehicle
#168017 by TerranceBoyce Thu Jun 06, 2013 10:58 am
The scammers are currently using the phone number

Telephone : +44 01158882941

with their scam adverts - different to the authentic company's number.

CAR ADVERTS - If a car seller mentions escrow - he's scamming you Never ever for any reason pay anything until you have seen and inspected the vehicle
#168104 by DTP-tractors Fri Jun 07, 2013 7:59 am
Thanks Terrance, I'll dig the info and PM it.

jolly_roger wrote:And I wonder why the map of Peru appears on the webpage?
http://companycheck.co.uk/director/917496358 and then some-one else gets in on the act too whereby we see http://companycheck.co.uk/director/917497585 That makes 2 directors.

I can confirm these two directors are correct for the legitimate company.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests