Information on romance scams and scammers.
#4420 by Purple_Nights Wed Aug 06, 2008 12:52 am
I belong to a dating site and i guess problem here is that they would try to guess ur email address from ur user name and mine is close to it.

here is how it started when he tried to add me and i decided to IM him first before adding.

Purple (8/5/2008 5:10:19 PM): who are u?

cole_riches (8/5/2008 5:14:14 PM): i am cole madison from cleveland ohio 39 of age ,divorced with a son his name is alex and he is 9 yrs old.i work as an importer dealer of artifacts,Gold and diamonds i buy from clients from africa i travel alot for business becos i have so many clients i supply them in the state,canada and some part of enroupe.i love my job so much becos its fun and i get to meet alot of people and know alot of things all around the world and also gain alot of experence too and a stay at home dad lol.i have custody of my son.i love to fish,camping,hunting,watching movies with my son and friends,love to travell alot,cooking,reading of novels,and also love meeting nice people

(funny i was just askin who he was and he pasted a whole dating profile...jeez)

cole_riches (8/5/2008 5:14:20 PM): i am from

(i deleted the name of the dating site)

Purple (8/5/2008 5:15:22 PM): i see and what is ur name there?

(gosh...took so long for him to respond. i guess he does not know what to say lol...well he never responded after that).

I have noticed it took a while for him to tell me who he is and i guess he couldnt understand me that he posted his whole profile instead of giving me his name...lol.

~Purple_Nights~
"...will always be watchin u..."
Advertisement

#4427 by Ralph Wed Aug 06, 2008 4:59 pm
Hi and welcome Purple nights,

Playing with scammers can be fun but there are precautions that you should take and a few rules that are best to observe for your own safety and to prevent scammers from becoming better at their job.