Information on romance scams and scammers.
#279788 by jamani2000 Mon Dec 28, 2015 6:28 am
I have been in communication with SFC Kevin Torres who is apparently currently deployed in Nigeria. I have been chatting with him for over 3 months and he came across as a genuine person. However whenever I asked him to speak to me or send me voice notes he said that he could not due to heightened security.
I was the one who requested to see him but he said getting leave would be difficult. He gave me an email address of [email protected] to request leave for him. I haven't been asked for any money yet.
I received a response from General Roy Williams, US Army, Africa Command, Camp Lagos, West Africa Coast saying that the request has been denied for confidential reasons.
The details he gave me for the solider was - Kevin Torres/SFC/MOS18B/Non commissioned officer/SO/Io/at United States Army.

The photos I was sent seemed genuine as one was of him as a child with his parents however I do know these can be copied from elsewhere.

Please let me know if this is one of the scams I have seen on this forum.
Many thanks.
Advertisement

#279791 by AlanJones Mon Dec 28, 2015 6:37 am
It's a scam.

There are no US forces currently deployed in Nigeria, the scammer has just told you that as that is where he actually lives and will want the money you have to pay for his "leave" sent.

Also, real soldiers do not pay for leave, they earn it for time worked, just like any other job and the military do not communicate with outsiders - all leave requests would be made by the soldier himself.

Finally, the email address [email protected] is a free address and not a US military one, which would be from a domain ending .mil.

Just block all his mails and do not respond to him any further. Please also post the email address that the fake soldier is using as his other victims may be searching for it.