Information on romance scams and scammers.
#49502 by jasomaha Thu Mar 24, 2011 4:47 pm
Hello...I am positive this is a scam because I contacted a recruitment office about it. However, I wanted to let it be known so that someone doesn't fall victim to it again. This person contacted me from a personals website and I have been talking with him for 3 months. We shared personal experiences and I was actually falling for this person thinking he was the one. The name used was Sgt. Michael Rios and the email was [email protected]. He requested that I send an email to [email protected] asking for leave for him. Military and government email address end in .mil or .gov not .com. I hope that others do not fall for his charm as I did. He even sent me pictures of a solider with the last name Rios on is fatigues.

The recruitment officer told me that the person must request leave themselves, not a family member or loved one. The only time a family member or loved one is able to request leave is when it an emergency and then it done through the Red Cross.

Jason
Advertisement

#49504 by Samantha Thu Mar 24, 2011 5:21 pm
Thanks for posting that, and I'm very glad you didn't fall for the scam. It is unfortunately a classic fake solider scam, and as you correctly noted it is impossible for an outsider to request leave for military personnel. @consultant.com is a free email address available through mail.com. They have a huge list of "professional" sounding domains but again, as you noted, no official government agency uses "consultant.com".

There is a lot more information about these types of scams to be found here.

Hopefully others will find their way here by Googling the addresses you listed and will be saved from falling for this scam.

Thanks again.
#78435 by mknucarman Thu Dec 22, 2011 8:31 pm