Information on romance scams and scammers.
#68425 by MKayle2881 Sun Sep 25, 2011 5:57 am
Long story short:

I have been talking to this guy I met on an online Christian dating service. He is a widowed missionary currently serving in Malawi. We have been talking since February, and honestly everything has been perfect. He is handsome, smart, funny, educated, has a great job over here in the States etc. I couldn't of dreamed up a better guy. We talk on the phone for at least 20 minutes every night. He sends me gifts, I help support his missionary work. We have fallen in love, completely. I have been almost positive that this is God's doing, as I have not had an easy life.

But something has come up recently and this is completely out of my league of things that I can handle. Suddenly last weekend he stopped calling me, I was scared something had happened that I could barely sleep, I work as a nurse and I had to call in sick because I have been so scared and exhausted. Finally late Wednesday night he called me from a blocked number which I thought was weird. He said that he is making an emergency flight soon back to the States because his brother is in trouble. (We had talked about his brother before, and to sum it up: his brother is not a very good person) Well his brother got into gambling debt with the wrong sort of people. He said that he is having to empty his bank account to help pay off his brother's debt because he is worried about his brother's family being hurt.

He said that he will be stopping on the 26th-27th at a city 4 hours away from where I live in order to see me, and he insisted on sending me money via Western Union ($200) so I could meet him. I told him I didn't need the money but he insisted so I took it with the intention of returning it when I finally see him.