Information on romance scams and scammers.
#163337 by KRM1978 Tue Apr 23, 2013 3:08 am
Scammer contacted me through eVow.com as user fernadhernaz77 but the profile has been deleted. A google search of the user name found another profile over at datinghookup.com however the profile was not there only the same pictures I saw on eVow.

We first texted for a few days, the number given to me was local 240 468 4918
How do they accomplish this? A search on the number said it was in my state, but also listed a server in Nigeria.

They were good, even speaking Spanish that seemed legit, something I studied for years in high school and university. I guess these online translators are good!

"He" was in the Army Reserves and going to be deployed on a 'secret mission' (my first sign of BS) so he wanted to stay on close contact via email at [email protected] He mentions a new phone also, a few days after the email, I received a text from +234 813 342 1297 I never replied to the email or text from the new number.

I feel bad for the actual soldier in the photos. His last name does appear to be Hernandez per the uniform, but no luck on Facebook searches, too common.

Below is the first email 'he' sent me. It was too much too soon, especially since we hadn't met and he only lived an hour away. I googled some of the flowery parts and that was confirmation of the scam since I found almost the exact wording on scam forums.

----------------------------------------HEADER INFO-------------------------------

Received: from [62.173.43.77] by web120502.mail.ne1.yahoo.com via HTTP; Fri, 19 Apr 2013 16:13:21 PDT