If you have been scammed, please post here and share your experience; it may help others avoid the same situation!
#299455 by CraigslistShopper Wed Jun 29, 2016 10:54 pm
Usually it's the buyer who is scamming. See exact scenario here http://jurinnov.com/craigslist-scams/ I am so lucky I saw this. Seller offered iPhone, said they had moved, now in Canada. Offered to pay for shipping. All communications via email. I requested seller to call me but they did not. When I hedged on using PayPal, they suggested using a third party delivery/escrow company called Goods To Go, that receives and inspects the sellers item. Sends buyer an invoice w Seller's name and address, order #, condition of the electronic merchandise... Instructions to pay via Western Union Instant Money, to Goods to Go "Agent", who does not release the money to the Seller until the Buyer has received the merchandise and is totally satisfied. Their website http://www.can-goodstogo.com looked legit but none of the links were active and they lifted one of their "awards" from a similar company that was legit. Following Jurinnov's advice (from above article), I did a whois search on the domain and found it was just opened 2 days prior, when this deal was taking shape. Seller anxious to know when I was going to make payment. Check out Jurinnov's article, he has a picture of an invoice that looked almost identical to the one I received. He also points out missteps that the Seller and the fake company made that were exactly the same for my experience. I'm seeing a lot more Craigslist Sellers wanting to avoid a face to face and ship like this now. Spread the word.

#299458 by HillBilly Wed Jun 29, 2016 11:32 pm
thanks for posting the info about the new scam site.

can you please post the email and header where the buyer asked for money to be transferred via the fake website so we can try to kill it??

Sponsoring Registrar IANA ID: 1741
Whois Server: whois.ilovewww.com
Referral URL: http://ilovewww.com
Status: clientTransferProhibited https://icann.org/epp#clientTransferProhibited
Updated Date: 27-jun-2016
Creation Date: 27-jun-2016
Expiration Date: 27-jun-2017

>>> Last update of whois database: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 03:28:48 GMT <<<

For more information on Whois status codes, please visit https://icann.org/epp
Queried whois.ilovewww.com with "can-goodstogo.com"...

Registry Domain ID: 2037768329_DOMAIN_COM-VRSN
Registrar WHOIS Server: whois.ilovewww.com
Registrar URL: http://www.ilovewww.com
Updated Date: 2016-06-27T02:45:30Z
Creation Date: 2016-06-27T02:43:47Z
Registrar Registration Expiration Date: 2017-06-27T02:43:47Z
Registrar: Shinjiru MSC Sdn Bhd
Registrar IANA ID: 1741
Domain Status: clientTransferProhibited https://icann.org/epp#clientTransferProhibited
Registry Registrant ID:
Registrant Name: Domain Admin
Registrant Organization: Privacy Protection Service INC d/b/a PrivacyProtect.org

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests