If you have been scammed, please post here and share your experience; it may help others avoid the same situation!
#341033 by Sue Donym Sat Oct 07, 2017 6:45 pm
First, I'm not sure if this is the right section to post this in. Mods: feel free to move elsewhere if you like. For anyone who hasn't seen the introductory post I posted ages ago, I'm a Western Union agent. Insert usual disclaimer about how the views of a lowly agent do not necessarily reflect those of Western Union as a whole here.

So, this gentleman comes in and wants a quote to send money to Senegal. Before I even start asking him the usual KYC questions I know he's unfamiliar with WU procedures; I mentally flag his transaction as potentially suspicious for the following reasons:

1. He wants a quote to send $300. I'm in the UK so he'll be paying in £s. It's not possible to send money to Senegal in USD via WU; only CFA can be sent to Senegal. Of course, if the receiver picks up from an agent which also offers currency exchange services then the receiver could ask the agent to pay out in USD instead of CFA, but since the agent will then charge their usual FX conversion fees and not all agents will offer FX services, this is not the same as sending in USD. I will come back to this point later.

2. He mentions that the money needs to go into the receiver's bank account. WU does offer a direct-to-bank service to certain countries, but Senegal is not one of those countries; only cash payouts are available to Senegal.

3. When I explained points 1 and 2 to him, he confessed he was not entirely sure which country the money was destined for; he knew it should go to Africa, but he was unsure as to exactly where in Africa.

4. For years, he has been a regular customer who comes in once or twice a week to buy a bottle or 2 of beer; up till now, he has never even bought so much as a phone top-up. To suddenly want to use WU after all this time is suspicious in itself.