If you have been scammed, please post here and share your experience; it may help others avoid the same situation!
#1983 by tmm Fri Aug 31, 2007 10:13 am
Hi, I'm new to this site and was wondering if anyone has had any experience with an online company 51electron - www.51electron.com

email address - [email protected]
- [email protected]
MSN: [email protected]

They were very good and friendly whilst discussing about a certain item I was interested in but once they received my payment guess what all communications completely cut off ignoring all my emails. Also when I go onto their online support I get cut off and they go offline.
I'm now out of pocket for $354.00 and just have to put down to an experience and a lesson learnt. Also first and last time I'll be using western union. They do say you learn from your experience. :cry:

#1984 by Scam Patroller Fri Aug 31, 2007 10:21 am
Hi TMM, sorry to hear you got scammed by these people, sadly, there are a lot of Chinese sites like that on the internet, who vanish with your money once you have sent it, here is a list of Chinese scam sites, and note that www.51electron.com is on the list:

http://www.firetrust.com/en/blog/chris/ ... ams?page=1

It is always prudent to Google the name of a website before proceeding with anything, and do a quick domain lookup, as with just about all of these electronic scam websites, they only register their domains for the minimum of 12 months, because they know they have no intention of staying around for any longer than that, they will simply abandon the domain and set up another one.

The general public should avoid sites that offer goods at well below normal prices, that is simply a ploy to get people to buy their non existant goods, always buy from a recognised store, it's better to pay the proper going rate for goods, than to lose all your money to a scammer just because you want to save a few $, £ or €, like wise, never pay for goods via Western Union or MoneyGram.

Remember, if it seems to good to be true, then it is.

http://www.419eater.com - http://www.aa419.org

#1991 by Doctor X Sat Sep 01, 2007 8:13 am
PM'd you tmm.


His secrets are not sold cheaply.
It is perilous to waste his time.


#1996 by tmm Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:37 am
Thanks Scam Patrol,
I was sourcing for goods to import to Australia - luckily I got done for one sample instead of more. I wish I had known about this site and did my home work a bit better. I had a gut feeling there was something wrong but I thought I was a bit critical about the guy. I should have gone with my instincts. Any how such is life.

I'm also suspicious about these sites. I checked the listing but they are not on it.

What do you think????

Doctor X - I sent you an email. I hope that's what you're after.


#1997 by Ed Williams Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:51 am
^^^Those sites look extremely dodgy. Bad grammar and spelling, free email accounts for contact. The phrase 'don't touch with a barge pole' springs to mind, and that's just from a cursory glance.

#1998 by Scam Patroller Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:59 am
Hi TMM, I would not shop at any of those 4 websites you posted, one of them was registered in Januray 2007, another 2 have only been online since May 2007, and I can't find the domain Who-is for www.ann9958.martbase.com as it's a subdomain of martbase.com, and again, of the 3 I did get details for, they were only registered for the minimum of 1 year, as is martbase.com, because they don't plan on staying around any longer than that :wink:

Just because they are not on that list in my previous post, does not mean they are safe, new sites are being made all the time and it sometimes takes time for them to be listed as scam sites.

Remember, if it seems to good to be true, then it is.

http://www.419eater.com - http://www.aa419.org

#2000 by The Man Sat Sep 01, 2007 12:03 pm
As SP said, those sites look too good to be true for deals. Although at least one is now redirecting....

If you don't know how to get the whois information one place to get it is www.godaddy.com/whois.

Of course if you look at Scamwarners whois information it has only been registered for 12 months :)

The Man

#2001 by Scam Patroller Sat Sep 01, 2007 12:14 pm
^^^^^ Yes, true, but we are not selling anything and we NEVER ask for any payment from anyone, unlike fly by night scammers with shady websites.

Remember, if it seems to good to be true, then it is.

http://www.419eater.com - http://www.aa419.org

#2002 by The Man Sat Sep 01, 2007 12:20 pm

Hence the :lol:

I would NEVER do business with a web merchant that had just opened the "doors" and was selling for way less than the going rate.

If you are buying online check several of the "major" sites (amazon.com and the like) to see if the site you are buying from is WELL under the going price.

If so you are either buying "hot" goods or you are getting scammed.

SP's siggy line says it all.

The Man

#2007 by Pat Hamilton Sat Sep 01, 2007 8:29 pm
It's sometimes easy to be seduced by "bargains" merely because they are via internet or from sources, eg China, where you tend to assume things are cheaper anyway. In my admittedly limited experience ANY unfeasibly cheapo deal is suspicious so unless you know a completely trustworthy supplier then proceed with extreme caution and check, double check and cheak again. It usually only takes a few clicks on your mouse to discover the truth.

#2021 by sheboppe Sun Sep 02, 2007 3:21 am
I can get only two of the sites to load - http://www.honeststore.com and http://www.shop198.com/. Since the contact email addresses are hotmail and yahoo that is a tip off to a scam. Any legitimate business will normally use their domain email address. There is no street address listed on either company. Western Union is listed as a payment source which should ring very loud alarm bells.

Shop198 has a sister site here that has the same kind of poor website creation, grammar and spelling.

#2205 by rosch Wed Nov 21, 2007 6:48 pm
Well I did business with 51electron and lost my money. But what's even worse is, that I thought of being on the safe side as I paid with paypal. But in case of my 51electron-deal paypal only stated yes you're right but anyway we cannot get your money back. 51electron is still offering paypal!I've even asked the german-chinese trading association to help me but did not get any answer. Then I tried to get an inkassi being interested in getting my money back. But as it is "just" 334 GBP I'm talking about, noone showed any sign of interest. So if anyone is on his way to Beijing, he can ring the bell at Mr. Sheng Lin at No 18 Jin Yuan office block, Ban Jing Road, Hai Dian Disctrict. That's where this so-and-so says to be living.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests