If you have been scammed, please post here and share your experience; it may help others avoid the same situation!
#21247 by Ballerina13 Tue Feb 02, 2010 12:01 am
Hello!

I am a professional dancer who offers dance lessons to make some extra cash. It works well for me, I even have an advertisement of sorts on a dance website. I am a cautious person, so my ad does not include my name or number, only my gmail account.

I often receive emails from potential clients asking for a resume and rates. I got one a couple days ago from a woman calling herself Amber Sanders saying she wanted a ballet tutor for her daughter, Kimberly. Thinking nothing of it, I replied to her with my rates. After I sent the email I checked her address, and noticed it was a yahoo.co.uk (English) email. I live in Michigan, so I was confused as to why someone in England would ask me for dance lessons.

I receive a reply saying she does in fact live in London, but her sister lives in my city and Kimberly would be living with her for a few weeks. Since she would be away from her regular dance classes, she wanted a private tutor to help her keep up. She and her husband thought my rates were agreeable and they were excited to book me for X amounts of lesson for X number of days, which amounted to $550. I replied saying this would be fine. I also asked for more information about Kimberly's dance experience, and for her sister's name and address so I could contact her for verification.