Room for Rent and other rental scams
#24328 by Michelle Tue Mar 16, 2010 5:23 pm
Re: Reply to your ad: Well Stylish Furnished One Bedroom Flat For Rent Oxford.?
From: Mcbelly Petersson ([email protected])
Sent: 05 March 2010 20:51:51
To: Michelle

I got your mail in regards to my Flat for rent,so what really happened is this,Am not given my Flat for rent just because of money but due to my transfer to west Africa.Am an X-RAY WELDER UNDER SHIP BUILDING, But have just been transfered to Niger dock Nigeria plc,you can view the site at http://WWW.NIGERDOCK.COM. I left country with hope that i will be coming back in a month's time,but right now the company have ask me to stay for 2yrs under contract with them,that is why i have made up my mind to put up my Flat for rent ,but i will like you to keep the Flat for me well okay just like yours.ok,and i want to let you know that the Flat its available For rent anytime,and you can easily go there and check it,but the problem it's that you will not be able to check inside of the Flat,so through the address you will provide for me i will used to send you the key and the document to you through DHL COURIER SERVICE and It will be home delivery, and i appreciate your expression,and the apartment include cable /internet access,Furnished, Central Air Conditioning, Laundry, Garbage Chute, Pets OK, cleaning service, dry cleaning,Heating, Electricity,etc and everything its already been furnished,

And here is the application form below that you must answer to qualify for the rent of my Flat,And i want you to know that am giving this Flat for rent base on trust and due to the way i read reply to my Flat,Hope you have a nice working day In fact i will like to meet you when coming to visit you soonest. Also,Pls let me get this answer.And you can call me on my cell . +2348063180993...

Here is the adress....27, Bridge St, Oxford OX2 0BA, UK. Remember you can only view it. Because the keys and document are with here in Nigeria.

1)Your Full Name
2)Your Full Address & Phone Number
3)How old are you?
4)Are you married?
5)How many people will be living in the house?
6)Do you have a pet?
7)Do you have a car?
8 )Occupation?
9)How long Do you intend to stay?

Looking forward to hear from you with all this details so that i can have it in my file in case of issuing the receipt for you and contacting you,and dog is allowed ,Await your urgent reply so that we can discuss on how to get the document and the key to you,please we are giving you all this base on trust.

Thanks and God Bless you
Hope to hear bck from you.

The thief will tell you that you can rent his accommodation only if you can prove that you have genuine interest. He will ask you send money by wire transfer (normally Western Union) to yourself or a member of the family to show that you have sufficient finances and that you are not a "time waster".

Another variation of this scam is that you need to send (by Western Union) money in order that the keys and other documents can be couriered to you

He will ask you to send him the transfer details.

Make no mistake ! Western Union Transfers can be picked up virtually anywhere in the world and with the minimum of identification. They are almost impossible to trace once the money has been collected. You will never get to see the accommodation or your money again.

If you are reading this because you are looking for property to rent, and you are in contact with this thief you are probably searching Gumtree or similar listing sites. If you receive any requests from 'Landlords' asking for some kind of payment by Western Union before viewing, then it will also be a scam. Please forward the mail to me at the address in my signature line and I will investigate and list them if necessary.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 42 guests