Room for Rent and other rental scams
#228134 by strudelduck Fri Nov 21, 2014 3:34 am
Hello! This is my first time posting here. I just joined because of this scam I almost fell for. I emailed this person about an apartment in Boston listed on Craigslist. His first email to me was as follows:

Hello Applicant,

This is to acknowledge the receipt of your inquiry email to my posting on craigslist regarding my house for rent and I do apologize for the slow in response to your inquiry about my ad.Recently moved to WI to stay close to my family beacause of Cancer.

I will like to lease my unit out till Next year before i can put it on sale because the market is not too good now. Do drive down and take a look at the unit from outside and the environment it's a lovely/secured neighborhood to live in

No one is living in this unit currently and it has a parking.
Pets allowed.
And month to month can be consider.
( ADDRESS:87 Revere St UNIT 1, Boston, MA 02114)

It's a Huge 2 beds, 2.5 baths, electricity, water,Cable,internet and garage are included in the monthly rent.The rent is $1800 per month plus a Refundable damage deposit of $1800 will be paid alongside with the first month’s rent before moving in. I do love to know more about you before we proceed. Attached are the most recent pictures i took some weeks back before i left for Boston. If interested with the neighborhood do write back

Regards,
Alan Rogers Hombs.

I didn't want to rent an apartment sight unseen, so I asked if there was a way for us to have my cousin check out the apartment on our behalf (since we're also not in the Boston area, but my cousin is), and this was his response:

How are you doing today and thanks for you compliments on my apartment.
Right now am not in Boston and there is no way your Cousin can meet me, am sick here. The apartment is fully furnished just like it is in the pictures nothing is missing accept my clothes that i bought here with me.