Has someone offered you a huge sum of money or a valuable consignment? It's a 419 or advance fee fraud - find out how they work, and what to do to be safe.
#7507 by ravipmalhotra Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:31 pm
Sir, I have a website http://www.malhotraengineers.com already operating for last many months. Now a certain person named Steven Lee through his Attorney has sent me a mail asking me to reply within 5 days. His client wants to register the same domain malhotraengineers key word. as in net com asia etc. I would like to know when my website is already registered and operative then why such a person would approach me through my email. What kind of legal recourse I should take against such a person or attorney.
Thanking You,
R P Malhotra

#7508 by Dotti Tue Feb 17, 2009 11:01 pm

Does this look familiar? It was sent to another domain name registrant.

From: Treey [mailto:[email protected]]
Sent: Tuesday, February 17, 2009 06:17 AM
To: info{@}xxx.com
Subject: Notice of Intellectual Property Protection

Dear Sir or Madam: 2009-2-17
We are a domain name registration service company in China. Yesterday we received a formal application submited by Mr. Steven Lee who wanted to use the keyword "xxx" to register the Internet Brand and with suffix such as .cn/.com.cn/.net.cn/.hk/.asia/ domain names.
After our initial examination, we found that these domain names to be applied for registration are same as your domain name and trademark. We don’t know whether you have any relation with Mr.Steven Lee. Because these domain names would produce possible dispute, now we have hold down the registration of Mr.Steven Lee, but if we do not get your company’s any reply in the next 5 working days, we will approve this application soon. In order to handle this issue better, Please contact us by fax or email as soon as possible.
Attorney at law of Legal Department
Tel: 86 0513 8532 2060
Fax: 86 0513 8532 2065
Email:[email protected]
Web: http://www.ntwifinetwork.com
Mail No.:137584

You are right that the person who emailed you is a scammer. The truth is that someone else can purchase those other domain names--there is nothing legally to stop them. You own the .com name, but you don't own the others.

But in reality nobody is trying to register those other names. The scammer wants you to be afraid that they will register the other names and cause you to lose business, so that you will try to stop this other person from getting those names. This scammer wants your money--he will try to sell you those names to prevent someone else from getting them. Here is a perfect example of how this scam works:

The best thing you can do with this one is just throw it in the trash.

Need to post photos? http://scamwarners.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=3219
Are you a victim of a romance scam? Read here for advice and FAQ's.
#7512 by Jillian Wed Feb 18, 2009 12:25 am
Dotti's advice is exactly accurate. They are just trying to entice you so they can take your money. I receive about five of those per day regarding ScamWarners. You can safely ignore it.

Have you sent a payment to a scammer with Western Union and now realize it's a scam? If the payment has not been picked up, you can cancel it immediately! 1-800-448-1492

Follow ScamWarners on Twitter: http://twitter.com/ScamWarners

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 50 guests