If you have received a warning from someone claiming to be a ScamWarner and want to check if it is genuine, please ask here.
#3112 by Jack Smith Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:46 am
I call many scam victims or potential victims every day, so if I've called you and you're following up by checking out this site, that's a great start! Thanks for trusting me enough to look into my warning further.

A little about me. I'm a retired scientist living in San Francisco. I have a wife and three kids. Rather than play video games, I prefer to do community service, and helping people that have been scammed seems to fit my interests and abilities. I have no employer--nobody pays me to call you, and I never get anything from a victim except an occasional "thank you," which is more than enough. I am simply a member of this group of similar-minded individuals from all around the world here (and feel free to inquire of the site administrator if I am reliable and truthful).

Almost everybody that I call has the same first reaction: who are you and how did you find out about me? That's natural, and I'm happy to reveal whatever I can that doesn't compromise my own sources. However, since most of all warners' sources are highly confidential (and deeply embedded with the scammers), I usually can't say very much.

On the other hand, sometimes victims talk so much that everybody suffers. Here is a sequence of events that happens all too frequently:

1. A victim pays a significant amount of money to a scammer.
2. Someone in our group becomes aware of what's going on, and we send a warning by phone or email.
3. The victim has trouble accepting that he/she has been robbed and so (quite naturally) would prefer to believe in the story from the scammer and all its promised riches.
4. The victim forwards all warnings on to the scammer and says "what do you say to this?" :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:
5. When the scammer is warned, two very bad things happen: