Craigslist, Ebay and other online buying/selling scams.
#41872 by Con Warner Tue Dec 07, 2010 9:30 am
Date: Tue, 7 Dec 2010 03:56:17 -0800
Subject: Re: Reply to your ad
To: Con Warner

Thanks For Getting back to me .I am buying this car for my darling mum as a Birthday Gift and i am working offshore at the moment as i am a petro-chemical engineer and due to the nature of my work, phone calls making and visiting of website are restricted but i squeezed out time to check this advert and send you an email regarding it. I really want it to be a surprise for my mum so i wont let her know anything about it until it gets delivered to her, i am sure she will be more than happy with it. I insisted on pay-pal because i don't have access to my bank account online as i don't have internet banking, but i can pay from my pay-pal account, as i have my bank a/c attached to it, i will need you to give me your pay-pal email address and the price so i can make the payments asap for it and please if you don't have pay-pal account yet, it is very easy to set up, go to http://www.paypal.com and get it set up, after you have set it up i will only need the e-mail address you use for registration with pay-pal so as to put the money through. I have a pick up agent that will come and pick it up after i have made the
payment.

Paypal is not involved in any way--in fact, the scammer likely doesn't even have a paypal account! All the scammer has done is send a fake email, supposedly from paypal, to try to convince the victim that the money has been transferred and is on hold until the victim sends money to the "cargo agent."