Craigslist, Ebay and other online buying/selling scams.
#20679 by Ralph Sun Jan 24, 2010 1:57 am
I am currently in the process of selling a car on carsales.com.au

I received an email from this person a day after the car was listed;

Name: Robert Lucas
Town/Suburb: LILYDALE
Postcode: 4021
Mobile Phone: 0419847094
Email: [email protected]
Comments:
Hello Mate, Do you still have this car available for sale?

The email itself seemed quite unusual, especially since the car was only just listed but to be on the safe side I sent a reply;

Yes, the car is for sale

Then I received another message that confirmed my suspicions;

Thanks for the prompt response.. I am ready to buying it now as a gift for my Great Father. I am at sea at the moment as i am a marine engineer and due to the nature of my work, phone calls making and visiting of website are restricted but i squeezed out time to check this advert and send you an email regarding it. I really want the car to be a surprise for my father so i wont let him know anything about the car until it gets delivered to him, i am sure he will be more than happy with the car. I insisted on paypal because i don't have access to my bank account online as i don't have internet banking, but i can pay from my paypal account, as i have my bank a/c attached to it, i will need you to give me your paypal email address and the price so i can make the payments asap for the car and pls if you don't have paypal account yet, it is very easy to set up, go to http://www.paypal.com.au and get it set up, after you have set it up i will only need the e-mail address you use for registration with paypal so as to put the money through. I have a pick up agent that will come and pick the car up after i have made the payments...

Regards

Robert R Lucas

At this point, as much as I would have liked to gather more information, I sent a simple reply;

The car was sold locally
Thank you

There were several tell tale signs that this was a scam;