Craigslist, Ebay and other online buying/selling scams.
#167715 by JSC Mon Jun 03, 2013 10:43 am
Hi, I've recently be searching on Ebay and Gumtree for a new phone, a HTC One or an Xperia Z. I found an "New" Xperia Z on Gumtree yesterday for £190 which sounds too good to be true but then again, I do know that people sell unwanted upgrades at good prices. So, I send them a message and they got back to me fairly bluntly, so I replied asking if they would be willing to post as I'm in Essex, London and this ad is from Iverness. Obviously I don't mean to sound like a scammer myself when asking to pay via Paypal but that is the safest method I'm aware of. Anyway, she got back to me and said "I can post for £4 but don't have Paypal". This is the weird part, I'm new to gumtree and I got a email faily soon after she sent her email from Gumtree saying "You replied to the ad 'Sony Xperia Z' recently. Unfortunately, the user who posted that ad has been reported as committing suspicious activity and/or breaching the Gumtree Terms of Use." So I left it there.

Now, for the interesting part. I gave up looking for an Xperia and started looking for a HTC One. Found one on Gumtree for £215 new as an unwanted upgrade, so I messaged them, day and a half without a word. Found another ad, new £220 HTC One, messaged them today, been a few hours without a reply which is obviously understandble, I mean no one's on their computer all the time. But then I realised all 3 of these phones/ads I've found for decent prices are based in Iverness - I don't know whether to think this is a coincidence of if I'm just being too paranoid about being scammed.

What do you think? Cheers, Jon. :)
Advertisement

#167720 by TerranceBoyce Mon Jun 03, 2013 11:13 am
Welcome to Scamwarners JSC.