Craigslist, Ebay and other online buying/selling scams.
#195474 by Roxyrks Thu Mar 27, 2014 8:29 pm
I got scammed by Britney Mariah Jones

I am new in the online business area, and I was selling an item online,
Got an Email from a person interested in my item and we started talking..
So anyhow, she said she wanted my product and that she would be paying via paypal, so she would send me the request.
The next morning I receive an Email from the address paypal (seemed pretty legit, reading that it did come from paypal) customer service stating ***MONEY HAS BEEN APPROVED YOU CAN GET THE PACKAGE SHIPPED IMMEDIATELY TODAY*** SHIPPING TRACKING NUMBER NEEDED FOR PROOF. The weird thing here for me was that the transaction was for actually more than what I had requested ($200 us dls and got $320) I immediately contacted my “buyer” and she stated that it was for appraisal insurance.
So first thing I do is check my paypal account and I see nothing pending there, this is not the first time I use paypal so I assumed that it would show up on my paypal transtactions.
I emailed my “customer” and she tells me that she did send the money and gave me a ref #.
SO since I saw and went thru the email, and really thought it was legit since it said it was coming from pay pal, I read about ebay wanting to ship items frist so the buyer would have time to review and try the product, so I stupidly shipped the item and sent shipping confirmation.
The next day I received this email from the same address stating it was from PayPal. ***SHIPPING TRACKING DETAILS UNDER VERIFICATION*** MONEY WILL BE REMITTED AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. PLEASE BEAR WITH US
That email stated that my money will be released in the next 21 days and then gave me some explanations as to why, I immediately went online to find if this was true, I saw on PayPal’s website about the “Funds Withholding”, so I was calm until the next day when I received this email… (all of this is happening while still being in contact with my “buyer”)