Has someone offered you a huge sum of money or a valuable consignment? It's a 419 or advance fee fraud - find out how they work, and what to do to be safe.
#27278 by tatupiel Sun Apr 25, 2010 3:11 am
I followed my instincts before anything happened.
So, no damages done yet.
However, I need help wrapping up this scam.

I wanted to sell items on Craiglist.
This person contacted me.
All seemed well till I got a overpayment. $1500 way over $55.
Things got fishy so I digged on the internet.
Everything fit the description of Overpayment Scam.
I expressed my uneasiness, in an attempt to end this quietly.
This person reassured me and asked me to send $1000 to shippinig agent urgently.
Why would anyone want to spend time & money for few used items?
I said no but this person is emailing me again and again, driving me nuts.

I need to solve two things.
1. I have the check. I didn't deposit it but what am I supposed to do with it?
2. How to make the scammer back off.

I am a student who's supposed to be studying for finals.
This is just draining my energy. Please help me end this.
Advertisement

#27279 by The Enchantress Sun Apr 25, 2010 4:31 am
Welcome to Scamwarners tatupiel.

I am glad you have realised this is a scam.

Simply ignore and delete any mails from this scammer. Also look out for other scam attempts.

See this guide http://www.scamwarners.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3237

Please post here as much information about this scammer - it will alert and save others.

See this guide http://www.scamwarners.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=3622

What do I do if I think I've been scammed?

Cease all communications with the scammer immediately. Delete any emails unopened and hang up if the scammer calls you.