Information on romance scams and scammers.
#45792 by horsegirl44 Wed Feb 02, 2011 10:57 am
I am bothered by the following email from a man I met on He IM for awhile last evening stating he is in Nigeria for business and them sent this email this morning. Am i being paranoid after reading all these or is this another scam? Please advise. The email I recieved is:

Hello Beautiful,How are You and how and How's everything with you.i want you to know that i would really love to know more about you.I am very interested in you and i will Like us to be Friends First and see where it takes us to.Here is a little more about me.I am an honest, kind, compassionate, positive person looking for that special woman to share life with. I have a wonderful Son who I am extremely proud of.. I am comfortable with where I've been and who I've been. I feel I've been blessed and I'm ready to grow some more; but I haven't found that partner in life.

I want her to be my best friend. I want that type of relationship where she and I can look across a crowded room and communicate with our eyes. I am romantic and can be very spontaneous. I enjoy making people feel welcome and special. I enjoy entertaining especially parties around my pool.. I go all out for holidays (I usually blow a fuse during Christmas). I grew up with many traditions, and have carried those over into my life with my Son.Christmas has always been one of my favorite holidays. I tend to go a little overboard...

Hey, life is too short. I'm definitely one of those people who take time to smell the roses, appreciate the stars, sunrises and sunsets. I have to be honest.. I do not like snakes and bugs. Give me a hotel room at the beach with plenty of suntan time, and I'm happy. I will go fishing with you if you want, but sorry, I don't do worms.... I just joined a gym, and I've been doing pretty well with going 3-4 times per week. I'm looking for someone to enjoy life with. I like to watch sports,to go bowling, I've tried skiing only once; that was funny. Had a ball snowmobiling. Like snorkeling, but am a little afraid to try scuba diving. I love to get dressed up.It would be nice to find a good woman who loves to travel or who would be a good reason to settle down and never have to always be on the road unless for fun or family tour.

I am just as comfortable staying home in front of the fire in blue jeans.Love going to festivals, the zoo, the aquarium, museums, love antique shops--love to know the history behind something, anywhere. cooking a huge dinner on Sunday afternoons, taking walks, taking drives...shall I go on?well As I said Before on my Profile distance never separates two hearts that really care, for memories span the miles and in seconds we are there,If distance were measured in terms of the heart we'd never be more than a minute apart,so what matter most in a relationship is commitment, honesty and trust ..distance between two hearts is not an obstacle; rather a great reminder of just how strong true love can be,distance does not matter if two hearts are loyal to one another...i am assuring you that distance isn't a barrier to relationships ,its just a matter of trust and commitment,and there's no place that far when there is real love.

So I Assure you that I Can Travel to meet the right woman no matter how far she is from me or where she Lives,I am a one man one woman kind of man.I don't like to play games with someone's feelings and I don't want anyone to play with mine either So please Try to Write me an Email telling me about your self and You can also send me some Picture of you and your Kids If that doesn't Bother You in any way.....Hope we can chat and see what the future has for us soon.... I must confess to you that I'm hoping that this is the end of my search,for no man would get the opportunity to be with an angel like you and still keep looking.It would be a great pleasure to chat with you and get to know you even better.So much Kisses Goes to you.God Bless You.........


#45794 by Dotti Wed Feb 02, 2011 11:42 am
Your instinct was absolutely right.
100% scam.

The writing tells me beyond a doubt that this is a scammer. There are certain types of errors and phrases that are typical of Africans, and they are definitely there.

Need to post photos?
Are you a victim of a romance scam? Read here for advice and FAQ's.
#45829 by horsegirl44 Wed Feb 02, 2011 8:38 pm
I got a second email from him which I have included below. He is using the name Robert Ankeny. I have also included the pictures he used in case it should help someone else. He has a facebook page under his name with the pictures he is using. I am glad I trusted my instincts!!

Thanks so much for getting back to me it really nice of you to write back to me you really sounds so nice and some one who i wish to meet..i have been searching for some one to love me for over 4years...My wish is to build up a very solid relationship, real friendship, real love and a strong family. I think, that it's necessary to build up relationships on mutual respect, trust, and loyalty, to be honest without fail, to support each other in every situation, to ever maintain an open communication and to never forget that it's too easy to 'let things go', and this is the very grave of love. Besides this, I think that passion is very important, but it's not less important to feel that life with a unique, special person is 'magic', and that the world outside is more beautiful if you can share it with your soul mate...and i hope u are going to be the right person for me..i will be waiting to hear back from you.Take care Of your self and have a wonderful Day.

#45833 by horsegirl44 Wed Feb 02, 2011 10:14 pm
He uses the email [email protected].

This header is from his last email:

From Robert Ankeny Wed Feb 2 20:38:59 2011
X-Apparently-To: [email protected] via; Wed, 02 Feb 2011 12:39:02 -0800
Return-Path: <[email protected]>
Received-SPF: none ( domain of [email protected] does not designate permitted sender hosts)
X-YMailISG: xezPRmocZAp3YMCraGqX_8tZLP7r_mIKMh9XWEMe3j_psegS I6tDkr6DJFQAYuV6lkgRSlPXpW0oe3x24TOFYYTh9y9PZRDAwRvY7yLkDmNR EoWHlTUFBzMk4ODbpU8Q14gD428sIqIjdwyBf9gnapayGO9tqa1xIiCZfmuI To3tU2l93YpA5o0cCPYhghyM1tPE_U0VPdlSgBMjjnqrhCgru_fgwMY.caQT letP.8gr6hReQqlv3wufkj.ooAnk7SluN5F_ZaAp1FEl.554uhHZ72ZzdLSH PlRqx4xoD7WpxbgYBvJCkvolxTxEI4kxoIXoWwDiIXcSWn1fkxTLVjcUBzoj wnD9tToCan_efkuF4w3Gelt2b5sXPS4FfpO5mmSJWsiOC6T5.SIEuD2Wmfvi nE9.a_UwwW6FZ9.EunNmL6CJ8COAADnojlmPslSN4_qJqlgY2N1UpuXkhSOp f0WBa2aRKSlsfBTIrnqWX3ekxNa.i6UOIRk7De5UwkzzmNV5Z8WRl7qFPt39 5M4RaUd26YjpGISGSKfJEHGIuW.TqWZNMLf5LeBfkMNlwT4E.iKq9HYcBNTC V6IJU2FhRDV0.ms_VyzyTKNJYlp3Bs5ePh3agGbsRsWmU..C4WOfBrkxBGUu dMo0DVIe9eupOaDlylxeZDA0.hgxkkZmVkMR1aurIeJJROrPTKM_bMNqX9OE
X-Originating-IP: []
Authentication-Results:; domainkeys=pass (ok);; dkim=pass (ok)
Received: from (EHLO ( by with SMTP; Wed, 02 Feb 2011 12:39:02 -0800
Received: from ([]) by (sccwmxc02) with SMTP id <20110202203807s0200r4stae>; Wed, 2 Feb 2011 20:38:07 +0000
X-Originating-IP: []
Received: from [] by with NNFMP; 02 Feb 2011 20:38:59 -0000
Received: from [] by with NNFMP; 02 Feb 2011 20:38:59 -0000
Received: from [] by with NNFMP; 02 Feb 2011 20:38:59 -0000
X-Yahoo-Newman-Property: ymail-3
X-Yahoo-Newman-Id: [email protected]
Received: (qmail 97282 invoked by uid 60001); 2 Feb 2011 20:38:59 -0000
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed;; s=s1024; t=1296679139; bh=0ztEOaqIrOGH7obD8t+m3pMqP3KGq0SNLoeN6RfHnq8=; h=Message-ID:X-YMail-OSG:Received:X-Mailer:Date:From:Subject:To:In-Reply-To:MIME-Version:Content-Type; b=ZZLwMnwHS1p8g2KLu6ns8z7f2YI5xxDXUmY+zTfLB+MZanzSrlqeVtCw0vrA/reWjSx3FCpvFQR4lrNSmMRVwu7aEHmmbNGbkDmIBklNKmuKrCtqKAFcF7ft9YojoQllUj5/SR9xfmJlRle1o8Kzd2fRVFhkKOBIfE0cFJFLMME=
DomainKey-Signature: a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws; s=s1024;; h=Message-ID:X-YMail-OSG:Received:X-Mailer:Date:From:Subject:To:In-Reply-To:MIME-Version:Content-Type; b=f20vzNY4NN3J3gtkemJNJs9Q62l+NyPK0iANkIwexck/POP9FB5+kkefCvjP+3c2AujkJbtuCQV4FJ+Bc3crp8GIug8Z3NhtjHbzixw9qcl37G8XL8waUasXGB2B/KR7pJw7MrC2YtISS4LBC13CF4myLtdOVx8muuvy2Ho9YKg=;
Message-ID: <[email protected]>
X-YMail-OSG: LY.GgewVM1mbbqvYlFHJjugPnyYc1thMrDeILLb0uTOVrX1 c8ZgWLIjOB1kVfEzjvM1oLCDPIFNKyGx5ss2GqQWP7jiXjtqi8pNDAMoeEMv EjQqHv8v_0FP7zSZ6UpsuCCWuBeqXIG4FCt8ESxRkJUwTBbP0MuTernmKFKs b.i_9kxQRsWukki7v7FN4Un8J5Mt9hGnk3CkibiWpp3Hjs3MYB2Fj4gkxEie InrgnvEXk9uBtNqd45Rt9Ta9PmJb8zk7A2Zj2vrxua0ywwNyw.cAzujycXqX yGg7rjVvP5lZ_3wNOjzF61sCBvYExxKRw6ONRt401fcw2N3b4HPI-
Received: from [] by via HTTP; Wed, 02 Feb 2011 12:38:59 PST
X-Mailer: YahooMailClassic/11.4.20 YahooMailWebService/
Date: Wed, 2 Feb 2011 12:38:59 -0800 (PST)
From: This sender is DomainKeys verified Robert Ankeny <[email protected]> Add sender to Contacts
Subject: Hi
To: C [email protected]>
In-Reply-To: <[email protected]>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="0-1958227033-1296679139=:95929"
Content-Length: 2822
#45839 by jolly_roger Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:24 am
Hi horsegirl44. Also contained within the header you'll notice NNFMP is visible. This usually indicates the message is fraudulent.
Thank-you for posting the story because you have saved someone else in the future.
#46654 by scammedagain Tue Feb 15, 2011 2:26 pm
I received the same email from a man I met on He used the name David Moore. He claimed he was in Nigeria working. He also posted pictures of himself and his "son". He started asking for money stating he couldn't cash his check after his work was completed. Stated he was a contractor engineer. This is definitely a scam. Beware.

I am putting his picture with his "son" in the photo area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 61 guests