The world's premier anti internet scam, anti fraud information website 

  • Job sites and employment scammers

  • Exposed employment scams: fake job offers, payment processing fraud, reshipping scams, and work-from-home cons. 10,500+ documented cases with evidence.
Exposed employment scams: fake job offers, payment processing fraud, reshipping scams, and work-from-home cons. 10,500+ documented cases with evidence.
  Been Targeted by This Scam?

Here's how to report a scam to the FBI, FTC, and other agencies. Read our guides on fake check scams, sugar daddy scams, and sextortion. Not sure? Try our free Scam Checker Tool.

  by TerranceBoyce
 
These are currently a major problem and pose a great risk to people looking for work.

The consequences for anyone falling victim to one of these scams goes much further than just losing money and wasting time. A victim could end up losing their bank account and being blacklisted, face repaying a large amount of money and potentially risk going to prison. Outside the harm to the primary victim, it also impacts the banks involved and law enforcement agencies.

Scammers will attempt to abuse any legitimate service that exists whether it be a bank or Western Union and it's inevitable. It's in their interest and that of the public that they take all reasonable steps to protect the integrity of their services and avoid abuse as far as they can.

I note that on one UK job site it clearly states that entities pay "a fee to access your contact information" which concerns me as it enables a scammer to compile "sucker lists" for a fee from CV's supplied by people looking for work and to contact victims under an entirely bogus identity direct. There is no excuse or reason for employment sites to operate this way.

This concerns me as I would consider it more secure for the job site to make companies contact you through themselves, in which case the scammer is not able to disconnect himself from whoever has compiled their 'sucker list'. Indeed, an entity could compile 'sucker lists' and then trade them to scammers for a fee without there being any control.

One thing I would mention is that having worked out how scammers operate it is then possible to devise a 'golden bullet CV' which could then enable law enforcement agencies to trace back who has accessed the information and identify who they are from their payment details.

The scammers regularly identify the employment site from which they gained the information to give their mail credibility, but by enabling the entities who use their services to anonymise their contact, it is impossible to stop the abuse.
  by jerseywoman
 
I was contacted on a Sunday evening via text message from David J Adams, hiring manager for Wistron Corp for an online interview. He said he received my resume through theladders.com, so at first I thought it could be legit. He asked that we conduct the interview at that time, but I said I would not be at the computer until the following morning, as I wanted to check out this company before he was to contact me back. There is such a company headquartered in Taiwan I believe. I traced the area code in which the text was sent 650, which I found is in CA. No such company in CA. I contacted theladders.com to advise of this situation, but several days have passed, and I have not received any contact back from them either.
So again, beware of this DAVID J ADAMS, WISTRON CORP texted from number 650-889-7109
  by Bryon Williams
 
Hello jerseywoman,

Yes, a text from an individual wanting to do an online interview for a job in Asia is a scam.

On Wistron site (http://www.wistron.com/) they have posted:
To job seekers and applicant, please beware that Wistron Corporation and its affiliates will not request applicant to provide any personal bank account, PayPal account, credit card number or any similar financial information or request for deposit or payment transfer/receiving for recruiting. Should you encounter any similar situation by misusing Wistron Corporation or similar misleading domain name/ email address, please contact [email protected] immediately. Thank you for your attention.
The phone number that you posted is a Voip number.
  by jerseywoman
 
Thanks I am sending an email to the address in your response.
I looked at the website, but I didn't find anything like you provided
thanks again!!
  by Bryon Williams
 
@jerseywoman

On the site. Upper Right click Careers then choose a location.

Bryon
  by Webwicked
 
It concerns me that as a job seeker, I have my CV uploaded on all of the UK search sites. I have been contact twice now, once by email, then the 2nd was to my email, followed up with a call to my mobile. The telephone call was most disturbing, as the guy was clearly using it for his own gratification. I reported this person to the Jobsite that he claimed to have located my CV and was informed that there was nothing that could be done, as the site do not regulate its users. I need my CV to be viewable to any prospective employers or recruitment agencies, so am therefore concerned about the security of my personal information and the possibility of identity theft if not worse!!!!
  by jerseywoman
 
I can't believe that this guy (David J Adams) tried to contact me again several days ago, only texted me a Hello, but when I did not respond they left it alone. An email was sent to the company which he claims to be representing "Wistron Corp"
  by Dedliagenda
 
I was contacted by text message by David J Adams saying he was the hiring manager for Winstron and wanted to do an online interview. I replied that it was odd that he would contact me by text and not just call me. He said he received my information from regionalhelpwanted.com. I told him to send me his office number and I will verify his information. Never heard back from him. I swear people have nothing better to do!