The world's premier anti internet scam, anti fraud information website 

  • Accommodation Scam In London

  • Exposed rental scams: fake apartment listings, room-for-rent fraud, and vacation rental cons using stolen photos of real properties. 16,974+ cases documented.
Exposed rental scams: fake apartment listings, room-for-rent fraud, and vacation rental cons using stolen photos of real properties. 16,974+ cases documented.
  Been Targeted by This Scam?

Here's how to report a scam to the FBI, FTC, and other agencies. Read our guides on fake check scams, sugar daddy scams, and sextortion. Not sure? Try our free Scam Checker Tool.

  by David Jansen
 
Welcome here leenfahmy.

It is very likely that the scammer doesn't live in the UK, therefore it will be very difficult to get him arrested. SCammers know how to stay anonymus. I am sorry about your loss, there's nothing you can do about it now.
  by leenfahmy
 
Thank You David,
good thing i realise before i leave home atleast i still have time looking for alternate place it just that now i dont know who trust..
I believe there is a reliable website for the transaction but i just dont know which one the real one.
Any help..i'm arriving london 17th Jan
Regards
  by David Jansen
 
^ Yes, i know how you feel. If you find another place and have doubts about it, just ask here for advice. There are lots of scammers trying to scam people who are looking for appartments, or rooms to rent. Please read this information here: http://www.scamwarners.com/forum/viewto ... 39&t=12278 There you can find information on how to spot scammers.
  by leenfahmy
 
Thank You David,
btw the one i dealing is http://holidayvacationhomes.net/id56.html,it was off for few days and its just come back on now :roll: ,maybe you like to chck it out.
Regards

<Mod edit: Site is being reported - Michael>
  by leenfahmy
 
Dear David,
RE:http://holidayvacationhomes.net/id56.html
this is the office address (the one written at the bottom)when open page for Mayfair :34 Baker Street London W1U 3EU United Kingdom(FYI i visited the address of the apt and come to my suprise its a bank branch!!! :shock: )
but when i redirect and open HOME page of the website the office address changed to 6 Glasshouse Street, Piccadilly CircusLondon, W1R 5RP United Kingdom
Tel:0044 702 407 4999 Fax: 0044 702 406 8883
Copyright reserved 1997-2010 Holiday Vacation Homes
its really confusing.
Regards
  by David Jansen
 
It is a fake website, and one of our fake website experts will investigate and deal with it. Don't do any business with them, it's a scam. And thanks for letting us know! :=)
Also, the telephone number is a re-direct number, which can divert your call to any other phone in the world. If you see a phone number beginning with +4470, then you can be sure it's a scam.
  by leenfahmy
 
Hi all again,
maybe this is a new one..
i have been cheated by this same person also on buying the ticket for a football match,
he insisted me to make the payment to secured the seat,too bad i have WU the money..
from the same guy of the holiday home website i mention earlier :evil:
I am so unfortunate to fall into this scam,i paid for London,Manchester apartment and a football match ticket...all to the same person...totalling almost 1000GBP.. :cry: :cry: :cry:
now we have to do another booking and just pray we wont get scam again... :?
  by Bubbles
 
Hello leenfahmy.

It sounds like the best advice I can give you is "Don't pay anyone by Western Union". Buy from reputable sources. In the United States there is a kind of watch dog organization called the Better Business Bureau. Maybe someone in the UK can tell you of such an organization you may be able to use to check up on a company before you do business with them.

Feel free to post the name of the company you plan to do business with here before you send money to them. Also search the internet for any complaints against the company before doing business with them.
  by leenfahmy
 
Thank you and aprreciate ur kind advise
rgrds :P
  by Michael
 
Update: holidayvacationhomes.net has been taken offline (again), let's hope it stays down this time.

http://www.steadyholidayvacations.com/id1.html
http://www.easyreservationhome.com/Mayfair.html

Are both scammer websites, I will report them later today.
  by leenfahmy
 
Thank you Michael... :)
a friend of mine got this three website but all required payment via WU,
i suggest her not to proceed.

http://www.findbesthome.net/Mayfair.html
http://www.steadyholidayvacations.com/id1.html
http://www.easyreservationhome.com/Mayfair.html

When all this gonna stop... :? its really gives bad names for holiday rental bussiness in London. :x
Rgds
  by Michael
 
Could you please ask your friend to send me the mail requesting payment, with headers, about the site findbesthome.net? It's a fake one too, I will need some more evidence for that one.
  by leenfahmy
 
Hi Michael,
the culprit has contacted me again this time saying he will email me the invoice soon....as if :evil: :evil:
Rgds
  • 1
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12