The world's premier anti internet scam, anti fraud information website 

  • Scammers replying to ads posted on motoseller.com

  • Craigslist, eBay, Facebook Marketplace scam reports. Fake buyers, payment scams, shipping fraud exposed. Check before you sell or buy online.
Craigslist, eBay, Facebook Marketplace scam reports. Fake buyers, payment scams, shipping fraud exposed. Check before you sell or buy online.
  Been Targeted by This Scam?

Here's how to report a scam to the FBI, FTC, and other agencies. Read our guides on fake check scams, sugar daddy scams, and sextortion. Not sure? Try our free Scam Checker Tool.

  by Jillian
 
@Carseller: Thank you for taking the time to post all of this information!!

I've received an email message from Motorseller. They are glad that people are reporting these scams but would also like the ads reported to them so they can take action. I was very happy to hear that they are so pro-active.

Here is part of the message directly from Motorseller.com:
We noticed reference to our website in your forums and are happy to see people identifying scammers but would love to have users also tell us about the scam ad if they find one so we can take action. If you could mention that some how to your membership it would be most helpful. Each ad has a email link to report a questionable ad to us directly. We also have extensive safety tips and offer tools to help buyers identify questionable ads.
Please do continue to post the scams here as well as reporting them directly to Motorseller. :D
  by carseller
 
@Jillian, unfortunately there is nothing for me to report to motoseller. I post legitimate ads for actual vehicles that are for sale. The scammers are the ones trying to "buy" my cars. Motoseller does a great job helping to prevent fraud by giving the IP address of these "buyers". The others (craigslist, kijiji, etc.) only provide the email address and I am not willing to send a message to someone that I know is a scammer when they have my real life details. I suppose I could bait them (safely), but I have not yet gotten into that sort of thing.

Perhaps I should have picked a better original subject line to make it clear that neither motoseller.com, nor the ads contained their website, were part of a scam.
  by carseller
 
Here are a couple more scam emails via motoseller.com. As usual, the email headers are not useful because the messages are relayed through motoseller.

Both messages are from the same lad. The first message was sent from Lagos, Nigeria, but the second one seems to have been sent via a proxy in the U.S.

The email address given is: [email protected]

Here is the body of the first message with the link to my ad removed:
===========================================================
BUYERS COMMENTS
===========================================================

Hello,
What a lovely item you have on post...Hope it still Available for sale?
Nelly...


Name:Nelly

===========================================================
Click on the link below to view your ad details:

===========================================================
NOTE: Sell safely! These links will show you what country the enquiry originated from or the ISP being used.
http://whois.domaintools.com/41.203.64.251 (ISP)
http://aruljohn.com/track.pl?host=41.203.64.251 (Users Location)
Buyers IP Address: 41.203.64.251 | en-us,en;q=0.5
Buyers ISP: 41.203.64.251
And here is the body of the second message with the link to my ad removed:
===========================================================
BUYERS COMMENTS
===========================================================

Hello,
What a lovely item you have on post...Hope it still Available for sale?
Nelly...

Name:Nelly

===========================================================
Click on the link below to view your ad details:

===========================================================
NOTE: Sell safely! These links will show you what country the enquiry originated from or the ISP being used.
http://whois.domaintools.com/172.190.18.246 (ISP)
http://aruljohn.com/track.pl?host=172.190.18.246 (Users Location)
Buyers IP Address: 172.190.18.246 | en-us,en;q=0.5
Buyers ISP: ACBE12F6.ipt.aol.com
  by carseller
 
Another message from a lad in Lagos, Nigeria. It has the usual red flags (Grammar, punctuation, "the item"), with a bonus of a few stupid questions (actually all seven are stupid questions in the context of the ad).

The email address given is: [email protected]

Here is the body of the message with the link to my ad removed:
===========================================================
BUYERS COMMENTS
===========================================================

Hey!
How are you doing today?Am highly interested in your item posted on motoseller.com and i want to know if the item is still available for sale,i want you to answer the question below:
1. What is the condition of the item?
2.Have you owned it from new ?
3.Why are you selling it
4.what sort of condition is it ?
5. How much are you asking for it ?
6.I will be paying you with Certified Cheque or Personal Check ?
7.Can i have any picture attach

I will be waiting for your respond if you willing to sell the item

Jame

Name:jame Bee

===========================================================
Click on the link below to view your ad details:

===========================================================
NOTE: Sell safely! These links will show you what country the enquiry originated from or the ISP being used.
http://whois.domaintools.com/41.211.227.183 (ISP)
http://aruljohn.com/track.pl?host=41.211.227.183 (Users Location)
Buyers IP Address: 41.211.227.183 | en-us,en;q=0.5
Buyers ISP: 183.227.211.41.client183.directonpc.net