The world's premier anti internet scam, anti fraud information website 

  • Rent scam Amsterdam craigslist

  • Real stories from scam victims. Learn from their experiences to protect yourself. Share your story to help warn others about online fraud.
Real stories from scam victims. Learn from their experiences to protect yourself. Share your story to help warn others about online fraud.
  Protect Yourself

Think you might be talking to a romance scammer? Use our free Scam Checker Tool to find out. Learn how to spot a romance scammer, review real data from 27,000+ documented cases, or read about pig butchering scams and sextortion. Been scammed? Here's how to report it.

  by Michael
 
Definately fake. I'll act on it soon, expect it to be be offline in 24-48 hours :) Thanks for reporting!
  by djfeifei
 
Hey, this is my first time here :)
Just trying to book a place to stay and wondering if this is a scam? I submitted some requests via the site Homelidays.com. This morning I received two email responses from [email protected]:

The first:

Thank you for contacting us.
We just received a confirmation for a previous booking, therefore it is not available for the requested dates.

Alternative locations for 1 person still available are the following:

http://www.tucadam.com/case/dbcase.php? ... amb&lan=en (discounted price is 65 euros/day - For 2 persons 90 euros/day)
http://www.tucadam.com/case/dbcase.php? ... sta&lan=en


Prices and maps are displayed on the site.

Please let us know if the above location could be of your interest. Or do not hesitate to contact us should you have any other question.

Kind Regards,
Ma

The 2nd:

Hi,

Thank you for your enquiry ,

The requested apartment has already been booked.

Please take a look at the following apartment(s) which are still available for the requested dates:
http://tucadam.com/case/dbcase.php?casa ... amb&lan=en
http://tucadam.com/case/dbcase.php?casa ... sta&lan=en

All the information are displayed on the site including the price which does not have any additional cost (except for late arrivals).


Looking forwards to hearing from you.

Regards
Lu

--

Can anyone shed some light please :)

Thank you!

Fei-Fei
  by djfeifei
 
Registrant:
tucadam
Via F. Russo, 40
pozzuoli, NA 80072
IT

Domain name: TUCADAM.COM


Administrative Contact:
di roberto, giuseppe
Via F. Russo, 40
pozzuoli, NA 80072
IT
+1.3492892889
Technical Contact:
Administrator, Domain
70 Blanchard Road
Burlington, MA 01803
US
+1.8882789780 Fax: +1.7812726550



Registration Service Provider:
FatCow,
888-278-9780



Registrar of Record: TUCOWS, INC.
Record last updated on 08-May-2010.
Record expires on 14-May-2011.
Record created on 14-May-2009.

Registrar Domain Name Help Center:
http://tucowsdomains.com

Domain servers in listed order:
NS2.FATCOW.COM
NS1.FATCOW.COM
  by Michelle
 
djfeifei

The actual listing site looks fine to me.

What you have to ask yourself; are the listings on there all genuine ?.

I'm afraid that you won't know that until you start to receive replies from the apartment owner. Come back to us if you have any doubts after you have received some correspondence.
  by djfeifei
 
Thx Michelle! Will come back after I get some responses!
  by djfeifei
 
Ok here is their response...

---

Hi,

all the apartments are complete and therefore the question to your 3 answer is yes to all of them.

We require the 10% advance payment if you like to book it and the rest will be paid cash at the arrival. There are no extra cost.

Please let us know if you like to reserve and in order to avoid confusion, please confirm that the apartment at the link below is the one you like to reserve.
http://tucadam.com/case/dbcase.php?casa ... amb&lan=en <http://tucadam.com/case/dbcase.php?casa ... amb&lan=en>

We will them provide all the information to complete the booking.

Regards
Lu
  by Arnold
 
The standard of English had deteriorated considerably. Not reassuring. Can you post the email address and email headers please? Less your details of course. If you don't know how to view the full headers, we can tell you, but we will need to know which email provider you use.
  by djfeifei
 
Sure, here's my original reply and their latest response...
----


from Fei-Fei
to info <[email protected]>
date Sat, Oct 9, 2010 at 9:58 AM
subject Re: 19 oct Fei-Fei (affittuario n° 5378795)
mailed-by
hide details 9:58 AM (6 hours ago)

Hello Lu,

The first link you showed me might be suitable. Can you tell me if there is a refridgerator, shower and heating in the unit?
What is required to proceed if I do decide to book this unit?

Many thanks!

Fei-Fei



from info <[email protected]>
to Fei-Fei
cc [email protected]
date Sat, Oct 9, 2010 at 10:51 AM
subject RE: 19 oct Fei-Fei (affittuario n° 5378795)
mailed-by yourhostingaccount.com
hide details 10:51 AM (5 hours ago)

Hi,

all the apartments are complete and therefore the question to your 3 answer is yes to all of them.

We require the 10% advance payment if you like to book it and the rest will be paid cash at the arrival. There are no extra cost.

Please let us know if you like to reserve and in order to avoid confusion, please confirm that the apartment at the link below is the one you like to reserve.
http://tucadam.com/case/dbcase.php?casa ... amb&lan=en

We will them provide all the information to complete the booking.

Regards
Lu
  by djfeifei
 
OK i did receive a much more descriptive email response now with exact address, directions, point of contact and telephone number. They just called and I spoke to them about the apartment. So that's a good sign right?
  by David Jansen
 
If they ask you to pay that 10% in advance through western union or money gram, then it's a scam. If they give you a bank account then check the details good. Is it from theyr company, or this person writing to you. If the bank account seems to be totally unrelated, then that's a sign of a scam too. Check the address, google it, also with google maps. Then you can find out a bit moore.

Succes!
  by djfeifei
 
They are asking for the 10% through paypal, the rest in cash upon arrival.

The person writing me is from the tucadam company, and they also gave me the apartment renters phone number (haven't had a chance to call yet)

I googled the address:
Leliegracht 60, 1015 DJ Amsterdam, Nederland? - 020 6390109

All that shows is the restaurant (supposedly in the same building)

The person also added me on facebook...not sure if that's normal or not? He is from the actual renting company and I was told if I had any more questions I could also call the apartment owner.
  by mokummer
 
being born in amsterdam and having worked in the centre of town, i know my way around a bit. the address leliegracht 60 is certainly NOT next to the anne frank museum, which is on prinsengracht - so a full block away.
on the ground floor is a restaurant, indeed - the mentioned telephone number is of that restaurant.

if you can't read dutch, you miss some information; this particularly large canal house is partly for sale at the moment. it is rather unlikely that the first floor, where the shown appartment could eventually be, has a tenant with whom you have spoken. this kind of appartments is very expensive - the whole building is a monument, which makes it very desirable to live in. the ceilings are beamed, fireplace at every floor, original details i totally miss looking at the photos shown at the website. the building was renovated in historical style after a fire, by a foundation known for its knowledge of buildings of that period.

i would be very careful to send any deposit for this appartment. prices for a studio appartment which sleeps two, in jordaan neighbourhood, start at 150 euros a day.
  by amsterdam1
 
A concern on Craiglist for Amsterdam. This is the link to a great apartmenet in a grat location. http://amsterdam.nl.craigslist.org/apa/2075576217.html I have had numerous emails with the owner who now lives in the UK and his solicitor also workng in the UK. The request for Western Union got me a bit concerned and it is a good deal on the apartment - not great, but pretty good. We were in the process of dealing with the paperwork for a move in on December 28th upon arrival and I found on Google maps an opportunity for street view. The building address was no way as described. I inquired to the solicitor (their website being under construction) and they said it was an error - the address is actually Ruysdaelkade 5 1072 Amsterdam not 4. "They have ammended it on their contract and would like me to". Getting pretty concerned - this may be my first scam! Pleaes advise. The solicitor website is: http://www.andries-voortrekker.com. The owner has the same name as a famous Romanian football player. The world is small, but really???
  by David Jansen
 
Welcome here amsterdam1.

This is a scam, don't bother to go any further with them. The solliciter's website, though under construction, is fake. Tanks for posting this.
  by chefgregorys
 
http://summitvacationrentals.net/id53.html
Definitely a scam. The pictures are real, though.
I stayed in this apartment in November 2010. It is managed by shortstay-apartment.com/amsterdam
They were great people, have lots of apartments under management, definitely not a scam.
Don't know who these Summitvacationrental people are, but they're in England. Big surprise, huh?
Hope somebody can shut these clowns down.
Chef G