The world's premier anti internet scam, anti fraud information website 

  • Scammer of Identity Theft?

  • Search 27,000+ reported romance scammers. Find stolen photos, fake profiles, emails and scripts. See statistics at scamwarners.com/romance-scam-statistics.php
Search 27,000+ reported romance scammers. Find stolen photos, fake profiles, emails and scripts. See statistics at scamwarners.com/romance-scam-statistics.php
  Protect Yourself

Think you might be talking to a romance scammer? Use our free Scam Checker Tool to find out. Learn how to spot a romance scammer, review real data from 27,000+ documented cases, or read about pig butchering scams and sextortion. Been scammed? Here's how to report it.

  by began steele
 
Consuelo this is a scam. I am unable to resolve the IP address but know from text it came from Nigeria . [email protected] is a fake email address any one can sign up for. A real charity would have a website and send an emai like secretary @africanskyfoundation.com. Generals and soldiers are not on the Internet hunting strangers out to chat with. Generals are never on line because they are too busy. Soldiers on active service barely have time to phone home. Always ask for a genuine email address that ends with .mil , a real soldier would happily give you that. I hope you have not lost money to a scammer. EDITED MY MISTAKE!! :x
Please do not contact them again and block all email adresses and tell them nothing. Never send money via Western Union or Moneygram because it is always 100% scam. Do not accept parcels, cheques, flowers or anything else.Cheques someone on internet sends are always forgeries so never try to cash them, even if money seems to arrive in your account do not use Western Union or Moneygram to send it on. In the email you post it states Nigeria and if you see these countries in West Africa- (Nigeria, Ghana, Senegal), Turkey, and Malaysia mentioned it is time to put on your running shoes and vanish.
Last edited by began steele on Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:14 pm, edited 2 times in total.
  by consuelo
 
I know it is scam, I never thought to send any money and AfricanSkyFoundation emailed me that they do not accept any donation by Moneygram .. I was able to trace IP ADDRESS by mails I got from him and they come all from KANSAS! I googled the place , it must be a hub, because it is located in a field near Chiquita and El Dorado. I was sure he was an american, I saw and heard him talking on Skype videochat. I emailed to IC3, I hope they can get him, because I do not like he goes on in his criminal activity.
  by Dotti
 
Consuelo,

A Kansas IP address does not mean the scammer is in Kansas

The writing in that email you posted is very much African, not American. The particular scam you have been dealing with is a format used by African scammers.
I saw and heard him talking on Skype videochat.
Webcam/video chat can be faked, and these days, it often is faked. All it takes is some existing video--which can be anything from a youtube posting to an interview (which would not be unusual if the scammer is pretending to be a general) and the right software, and it is very simple. Without existing video, it is harder, but it is still possible to create fake webcam.

As more and more people rely on webcam as a way to determine whether they are talking to a real person, scammers are getting better and better at faking it.