The world's premier anti internet scam, anti fraud information website 

  • London Accommodation - cityoflondonhomes

  • Real stories from scam victims. Learn from their experiences to protect yourself. Share your story to help warn others about online fraud.
Real stories from scam victims. Learn from their experiences to protect yourself. Share your story to help warn others about online fraud.
  Protect Yourself

Think you might be talking to a romance scammer? Use our free Scam Checker Tool to find out. Learn how to spot a romance scammer, review real data from 27,000+ documented cases, or read about pig butchering scams and sextortion. Been scammed? Here's how to report it.

  by Clair
 
http://www.allianceholidayapartments.netfirms.com/ is also a fake and has been posted to our site killers. Here is the address they are using on the website. Henley-in-Arden, Solihull West Midlands, B95 5SA, Alliance Holiday Apartments

Adding these key words to make sure that internet searches for vacation rentals in London bring people to this warning site:
"Self Catering Holiday Apartments, London apartments, accommodation in London, London serviced apartments, London short let, short term rental London, self catering apartment in london, cheap and affordable london rent, rentals short-stay apartments in London United Kingdom, Holiday Lets, UK Self Catering, London, Sussex, Brighton Conference, Gay Hotels, Vacation, Rentals, Cottage, rental, self-catering, short-term, hen party, flats, hotels, reviews for holiday apartments in London, holiday apartment in London, holiday apartments London, London holiday apartment, London holiday apartments, self catering in London, London self catering apartments, Apartments, Apt, Apts, property management, rent, rental, studio, house, home, outfitted, manager, living, renting, 3 bedroom, 2 bedroom, unit, single, double, covered parking, move in specials, swimming pools, laundry, leases, subleases, furnished, pets, high speed internet, cable hookups, satellite hookups, luxury, superby, furnished, home, cheap apartments"

Not much we can do to catch them, but we will try to slow them down. If you are a victim of a scam, please report it to your local police department.
  by kuju
 
i m trying to book an apartment from gumtree.com. Broadfield, Broadhurst Gardens, South Hampstead, London NW6 - the person involved is nick kobets. does anybody knows anything about him
  by Peta
 
Hi kuju,

Could you post some of the email that you received? Please include the full header details but delete your personal information. If this is a scam then it is almost ceratin that the scammer will not be using his real name.
  by Arnold
 
The name isn't known to us, but that means nothing. Did he use lower case for his name? That's a bit suspicious.
  by kuju
 
the email address is [email protected]. no he did not use lower case for the name.we contacted him by phone and also offered us that if we have any relatives they can go to see the apartment.
  by Clair
 
Hi kuju, The name and email address are not known to us, but that doesn't mean it is not a scam. As you move forward looking for an apartment to rent, just be aware of the warning signs and stop communicating with them if it seems like something is amiss.

If you are asked to send a deposit to secure your rental by Western Union or Money Gram is the biggest warning sign. Here are a few other things you can do or look for:

1. Are the scammers using a +44 70 phone number? This is a phone number that can be redirected to anywhere in the world.
2. Ask for the full address of the property you wish to rent and do a Google search on it and see what comes up.
3. Are the images of the property too good to be true?
  by Arnold
 
Hmm.
We can't say that an advert is real, but there's nothing there that says "scam" to me.
UK mobile number as against an 070 redirect number. Private landlord so the Yahoo email address doesn't rings any alarm bells.
  by Clair
 
Is he asking you to make a deposit through Western Union or a bank transfer?
  by kuju
 
He is asking to do the deposit of just GBP250 via bank transfer. We've made contact by telephone several times
  by Clair
 
Is the bank account in his name, some other name or a company name?
  by AlanJones
 
The name of the account may be irrelevant.

I've been passed a couple of account numbers recently by such scammers.

In both occasions, the account number and sort code were identical but the account name different.
  by kuju
 
the account holder is not Nick Kobets. its supposed to be the landlord's name.
  • 1
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 12