The world's premier anti internet scam, anti fraud information website 

  • Accommodation Scam In London

  • Exposed rental scams: fake apartment listings, room-for-rent fraud, and vacation rental cons using stolen photos of real properties. 16,974+ cases documented.
Exposed rental scams: fake apartment listings, room-for-rent fraud, and vacation rental cons using stolen photos of real properties. 16,974+ cases documented.
  Been Targeted by This Scam?

Here's how to report a scam to the FBI, FTC, and other agencies. Read our guides on fake check scams, sugar daddy scams, and sextortion. Not sure? Try our free Scam Checker Tool.

  by Christina
 
I'm so sorry that you have been scammed, cuzzymadrid!
  by Arvy1988
 
Hi there,
Last month i booked accomodation with http://bayswater-lettings.co.uk i know that you have mentioned that it is a scam but i dont want to believe it. Im from Australia and have booked to go on holidays with my family, my mum offered to pay for the accomodation for me and my sister and i just feel so bad now after i've read everyones post. Are you sure its a scam... i have no idea what to do or even say to my mum now !!
  by Ralph
 
Hi Arvy, welcome to Scamwarners

I am sorry but there is no doubt that the company mentioned here is a scam, if you would like to post any of the emails or email addresses regarding your situation we can confirm it for you.

Unfortunately, it is looking as though you have been scammed, I am sorry, but if that is the case you will not be able to get your money back and you are likely to be targeted again by scammers using the same scam or perhaps something completely different.
  by Crispy Duck
 
Sorry, Arvy1988 - it is definitely a scam!!

From their website:
Copyright © 2003-2009 Bayswater Holiday Apartments
yet the information on the sites registration:
Registered on: 17-Mar-2010
Renewal date: 17-Mar-2012
Also,
Registrant:
john waleter

Registrant's address:
The registrant is a non-trading individual who has opted to have their
address omitted from the WHOIS service.
Their "Booking Form" claims to be secure, BUT
http://bayswater-lettings.co.uk/booking-form/
You are now on the secure Bayswater Holiday Lettings booking page. All communications between you and the website are encrypted using SSL technology to keep your data confidential.
That is NOT a secure or encrypted site!

The address "28 Kensington Gardens Square London, W2 4BG" - there is NO listing of a company with that name at that address!

Again, I am sorry to say that you have been scammed. :(
  by Arvy1988
 
Hey guys thanks for you help.
I understand that it seems to be a scam but what i can't figure out is why would they say for me to give them my details so they can refund me the money back in 14 days?
  by Ralph
 
It is hard to say exactly what they are up to, perhaps they will send you a fake cheque for more than the refund then ask you to send the rest back by Western Union.

We can only guess at this stage.

Would you mind posting some of those emails , it should give us a better idea, please remove your own name from them before posting.
  by Arvy1988
 
RE: Self Catering Apartment in London/BookingReference:Bays-Apart0753391?
From: London Holiday Lettings ([email protected])
Sent: Thursday, 22 April 2010 4:50:06 PM


You can make the payment into the account details below:

Account Name: Bayswater Rentals
Sort Code: 11-00-01
Account Number: 08146377
Swift Bic: HLFXGB21F08
IBAN: GB91HLFX11000108146377
Bank Name: Halifax Bank
Beneficiary Address: 25-29 Harper Road, London, SE1 6AW United Kingdom
Bank address: 36-37 King Street, London, W6 9HW, United Kingdom

Let us know what you decide.

Regards,

Paul Hamilton
  by Arvy1988
 
How did you figure out it was a scam?
  by GomerPyle
 
Another way to check these apartment websites is to search on customer comments. Bayswater lettings appear to share theirs with Space Hotel Apartments. At best it indicates that they are unscrupulous, though with with the other evidence provided by Ralph and Crispy Duck there is little doubt that they are to be avoided at all costs.

Just look at this.

From http://bayswater-lettings.co.uk/reviews/4539644728
"Wonderful Accomadation" Stayed here for the last 4 nights .The apartment was excellent although there was 2 of us,we got a triple size apart. It was really worth the extra money, We had a 36" plasma screen tv, electric tilting bed and all the mod cons of modern living. Sean the manager was very helpful and pleasant,and the location was great. Would highly recommend this apartment.

Posted by Laura Ramsey, Dublin. on Tue 03 Nov 2009 at 3:50 pm
From http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserRevi ... gland.html

about http://www.aparthotel-london.co.uk/
Stayed here for the last 4 nights .The apartment was excellent although there was 2 of us,we got a triple size apart. It was really worth the extra money, We had a 36" plasma screen tv, electric tilting bed and all the mod cons of modern living. Sean the manager was very helpful and pleasant,and the location was great. Would highly recommend this hotel.
The only downside is that there is no housekeeping service. You are SELF CATERING all the way. No fresh towels, toilet tissue,or room freshening.
  by Ralph
 
A quick search can often give other useful results, Right Click and open this link in a new window to see other complaints.

Or more information on teh same company is here if you Right click and open this link in a new window

Another way that can often prove a scam is to check the header of the emails you have received as well as doing searches on their emails, so far, the one email you posted doesn't do a great deal to prove anything but the first emails you received should.

By checking the headers we can often tell where they are from, if you know how to find a header, please post it here, if you dont know how to find them, let us know which email provider you use and we can give you specific instructions.

The header from the email where you received the bank account would be particularly useful for us, with it, we may be able to have that bank account closed down.
  by richlines
 
I am trying to book an apartment in London and I am from London, but have lived abroad for 4 years. Even I as a native was taken aback by the number of scam websites in London. Some websites look very professional, until you look a little closer.
WARNING! Check the phone numbers, all central london landlords should have a phone number that is 0207 XXX or +44 207, anything different like +44 702 XXX is a phone number redirected anywhere in the world. If you cant get hold of the person renting the apartment move on to the next one.
Ask for the address of the apartment before you send any money.
Anyone mentioning Western Union - run a mile. Its all scams.
Here are just two of many, many fraudulent sites I found

TO NOT USE THESE WEBSITES THEY ARE SCAMS. a google search of them revealed nothing.
http://www.bayswater-flats.co.uk (BAYSWATER FLATS owner Richard Morris, very professional 'looking' web site)
http://www.londonleisurehomes.com (LONDON LEISURE HOMES, owner Bryan Macmillian)

Anyone not wanting to take cash payments is a fraudster.
There are many many scams on gumtree.com although there are good offers also here.

Look at many adverts before choosing an apartment. I became suspicious only when I saw the same photos of one apartment, listed at 2 different addresses!! BUYER BEWARE.
  by Ralph
 
Hi Richlines, welcome to Scamwarners.

That is some great advice you have there, in particular the number that people should be expecting as london phone numbers.

Well done
  by Michael
 
Both sites are added to the ridiculously long 'to kill'-list. We'll get to them asap! :D

Thanks for reporting!
  by jess85
 
Hi all

I just want to say a very big sincere THANKS to everyone - had it not been for this site I would have booked a property through www.londonleisurehomes.com.

I was a little skeptical from the start - I like to think I've got the smarts when it comes to booking accomodation, and a few things didnt make sense to me - the name in the email address being spelt bryan, but the name on the signature was brian, when requesting certain property details I was emailed a totally different property that I had seen on the website, yet he had told me he only had one apartment to offer etc... and of course the cheap price! 260 per week for a property in Kightsbridge?? Not likely!

Thankfully however, me and my BF did some research and came across the link to this topic, so I have now emailed this 'Brian MacMillan' back and told him in no uncertain terms that we will NOT be renting any property through him, and that he should be ashamed of himself!

It also turned out, as you have mentioned elsewhere, that the number was indeed being redirected somewhere differnt than london. While I still feel quite cheated, I am aware we are very lucky as we never transferred any money whatsoever to this person. I feel so sorry for all you guys who have been scammed out of your hard earned money, and wish there was a way we could get it back for you!

Once again. thanks very much guys, you saved me alot of stress!!

If you want any details regarding my email exchanges, just let me know.

Jess
  by Ralph
 
Hi Jess, welcome to Scamwarners,

I am very happy to hear you have managed to avoid being scammed, that is great news.

The emails that you received and that are not posted here ecan be useful to others if you post them, please do not post anything that you sent yourself or any of your own details.

Sorry for the rush I need to do some other things but if you have any questios please ask
  • 1
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 12