The world's premier anti internet scam, anti fraud information website 

  • Land Transaction

  • Exposed check scams, debt collection fraud, investment scams, and advance-fee financial fraud. 2,780+ documented cases with evidence.
Exposed check scams, debt collection fraud, investment scams, and advance-fee financial fraud. 2,780+ documented cases with evidence.
  Been Targeted by This Scam?

Learn how to report a scam to the FBI, FTC, and the right authorities. Been asked to invest in crypto? Read about pig butchering scams. Received a suspicious check? Learn about fake check scams. Not sure if it's real? Use our free Scam Checker Tool.

  by J barber
 
I received an email from a pastor in Kenya asking for money to complete a land purchase. I know the man, but not well. So I asked him to provide me the email of the seller of the land. He complied and gave me [email protected] I emailed Virginia and felt comfortable that the deal was solid. Now I'm having second thoughts. I fear Virgina Syombua is a fictitious name for the Kenyan man, and I have helped put a lot of money into his pocket. I googled the IP address of Virginia's email (found it in email properties). It is is 98.136.167.130. This IP is identical to the IP address for a known scammer in Africa who went by "Amaro Bello" which is 98.136.167.130 My fear is that my Kenyan friend has used both Amaro Bello and Virginia to do dirty work. On the plus side the IP of the seller is different from the Kenyan man asking for help, although both are yahoo accounts (as is Amaro Bello). The entire info info for the "seller" is: web113910.mail.gq1.yahoo.com (98.136.167.130) by col0-mc4-f9.Col0.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.3959). The complete info for the Kenyan man's email is: web36305.mail.mud.yahoo.com (209.191.91.182) by col0-mc4-f40.Col0.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.3959)

Any advice is welcome. Thanks.
  by Crispy Duck
 
Hello, JBarber & welcome. :)

Sadly, all the I/P's you posted are Yahoo (Sunnyvale, USA).

Could you please post any relevant emails with the full headers (removing your own personal details)?

If you don't know how to get the headers, please let us know which mail program you use & we can help.
  by Arnold
 
Welcome to Scamwarners. It's not really possible to tell based on what you have told us. He doesn't seem to be offering you anything so it's not a 419 scam as such. Which doesn't mean it's it's not a scam.
J barber wrote: I know the man, but not well.
If all your contact has been via the Internet, you may not know him at all. The Internet makes it too easy to deceive people.
  by J barber
 
Crispy Duck

Sorry to take so long to get back. I am not sure how to post the full header. I use hotmail as mail program.
  by Jillian
 
Welcome J barber.

To find email headers with hotmail:

While looking at the index of your inbox, right click on the subject line for the email you want to find the header on and choose "view source" from the options that show up in the drop down menu. A new window will open with the full email, including header.

Regarding your situation, as Arnold said: If you have only known this paster over the internet, it is very possible that it has all been a deception.
  by J barber
 
This is all the info, minus message...I assume this is the header. Thanks.


X-Message-Delivery: Vj0xLjE7dXM9MDtsPTE7YT0wO0Q9MDtTQ0w9MA==
X-Message-Status: n:0
X-SID-PRA: Virginia Syombua <[email protected]>
X-AUTH-Result: NONE
X-Message-Info:

Received: from web113910.mail.gq1.yahoo.com ([98.136.167.130]) by col0-mc4-f9.Col0.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.3959);
Tue, 23 Feb 2010 01:10:46 -0800
Received: (qmail 22902 invoked by uid 60001); 23 Feb 2010 09:10:46 -0000
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=yahoo.com; s=s1024; t=1266916246; bh=+hMwaACdPQkNjSFx8JHFO9r/VM/d0b2dmjDYuk7isVs=; h=Message-ID:X-YMail-OSG:Received:X-Mailer:References:Date:From:Subject:To:In-Reply-To:MIME-Version:Content-Type; b=
DomainKey-Signature:a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws;
s=s1024; d=yahoo.com;
h=Message-ID:X-YMail-OSG:Received:X-Mailer:References:Date:From:Subject:To:In-Reply-To:MIME-Version:Content-Type;
b=
Message-ID: <[email protected]>
X-YMail-OSG:
Received: from [41.212.69.167] by web113910.mail.gq1.yahoo.com via HTTP; Tue, 23 Feb 2010 01:10:45 PST
X-Mailer: YahooMailRC/300.3 YahooMailWebService/0.8.100.260964
References: <[email protected]>
Date: Tue, 23 Feb 2010 01:10:45 -0800 (PST)
From: Virginia Syombua [email protected]
Subject: Re: Payment for Land
To: Removed
In-Reply-To: <[email protected]>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="0-1481519497-1266916245=:22899"
Return-Path: [email protected]
X-OriginalArrivalTime: 23 Feb 2010 09:10:46.0268 (UTC) FILETIME=[156F13C0:01CAB468]

Edited to remove member name and email address and tidy the header to make it easier to see the important bits ;) Ralph
  by J barber
 
41.212.69.167 Kenya (Nairobi)

Not sure what this means or how it helps my question. Sorry.